Guest Post: Pumpkin Curry Soup

Leah’s note: I’m currently enjoying the sun in Phoenix with family! My friend, Tahlia generously offered up a guest post to keep you entertained while I’m frolicking with cacti! Enjoy!

image

When I was 13, my mom told me that this was the last year I could go trick-or-treating, and I was majorly bummed. I loved dressing up, and I would start planning my next years’ costume almost as soon as I came out of my Halloween sugar-coma. This particular year I’d had the pleasure of reading “Gone With the Wind” and thus became obsessed with Scarlett O’Hara. My mom duly made my costume, and I was thrilled to have a dress complete with hoop skirt. What I failed to take into account is that in the Midwest (or maybe it’s everywhere? I’m not really sure) Halloween décor involves lining your entire porch with lit jack o’lanterns. Normally not a problem, but I managed to knock over no less than 3 of these things, almost setting myself on fire.

Now that I’m older, I still dress up for Halloween, but now I have a much better (and more nutritious!) use for pumpkins…Pumpkin Curry soup. It’s packed with vitamins and fiber, keeping you full for longer, and the curry gives a delicious kick!

I got this recipe from Better Homes and Gardens, October 1996. I make this every year, and it gets rave reviews.

image

Ingredients:

1 7-8 lb pumpkin (choose one that’s round with a flat bottom so it won’t tip over)
3 14 ½ oz cans of chicken/vegetable broth
2 baking apples, peeled, cored and chopped coarsely
1 carrot
2 tsp grated gingerroot (look in the foreign foods aisle, or Asian grocers)
1 tsp curry powder
1/2 tsp ground cumin
6 slices bacon (regular or turkey)
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 tsp sugar
1 cup croutons

1) Using a large, sharp knife, cut the top off the pumpkin and scoop out the seeds and pulp. (I roast these with season salt, but that’s for another recipe!)

2) Replace the pumpkin top, place on a baking sheet and bake at 375 for an hour. Set aside to cool.

3) When cool, scoop out the flesh (it should be tender), leaving about ¼ to ½ inch reserve; don’t remove any from around the bottom of the shell. You can throw the top of the pumpkin out.

4) In a large pot, combine the pumpkin flesh, apples, carrot, broth, and all of the spices. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat. Cover and simmer for about 10-12 minutes. Let cool for a few minutes.

5) Put this mixture in the food processer or the blender until thick but smooth.

6) Put the pumpkin shell in a casserole dish. Pour the soup into the shell. Bake, uncovered for 20 minutes at 375.

7) Meanwhile, cook the bacon until crisp. Reserve the drippings and cook the onion with the sugar.

8) Crumble the bacon and add the croutons in the skillet. When soup is out of the oven, (and sufficiently cooled aka you won’t burn yourself!) add the croutons and bacon on top.

Nutrition: per serving: 135 calories, 4g fat (1 of which is saturated) 5mg cholesterol, 600 mg sodium, 20 g carbs, 4 g fiber, 6 g protein. 32% vitamin A, 16% vitamin C, 38% calcium, and 10% iron.

One Response

Leave a Reply

