A Sweet Piece

First and foremost,

Thank You…

for your continued support! We made it through to Challenge 2 of Project Food Blog!

As a result, I skipped out of work at 12:45 to get down to business since we are going to be out of town half of tomorrow and into the next day leaving me very little time to cook up a delicious meal to showcase.

I won’t put you through my ugly lunch either – it was leftover eggplant parmesan that was jammed into a too-small tupperware and basically spilling out the sides. It was a sight, that’s for sure.

So I’m going to mix it up a bit, shall we?

A Sweet Piece

The other day, I had to run into the grocery store for a couple of things and just happened to wander into the chocolate bar aisle.

Now, usually, the percentages are what guide me. I’m a dark chocolate girl all the way. The darker, the better.

But that day, I took my had off of the 90% Lindt bar and drifted toward something that was more enticing.

016

What do we have here?

Cranberry Orange Dark Chocolate

020

Lemon (!) Pepper (!!) Dark Chocolate?!

018

My love of lemon is no secret, nor is my love of spice. So I was particularly excited about this one, though I would still have preferred a darker cocoa.

021

The cranberry orange went to work and the lemon pepper went home.

The cranberry orange got broken into first.

012

I adore orange chocolate. So I knew this wouldn’t be bad but I was hoping it would blow my mind.

013

Blow my mind, it did not. Though I did like the little crunchy flecks of citrus thrown in. But overall, I’d say this is comparable to most other orange chocolates. The cranberry wasn’t noticeable.

022

Yes, I’m wearing a scarf in September. You can start to feel sorry for me now.

Now, the lemon pepper. I finally broke into that this afternoon.

027

Oh my. Lemony, it was! The pepper flavor was extraordinarily mild and honestly, was mostly just an after thought. I wouldn’t mind a little more zip but the lemon tang was lovely.

It goes down far too easy.

What is your favorite interesting mix in chocolate?

I think the bacon bar is still in the lead for me!

See you all tomorrow for my #pfb2010 Challenge 2 entry! Start warming up your voting fingers again!

3 Responses

  1. Hi Leah! Nikki shared your blog with me and I’m enjoying it so much! I think you’ve missed your calling, however, food photographer/stylist. Your shots are gorgeous. Keep up the great work and I’ll be sure and vote for you in Round #2! Laurie

  2. We found a Lindt (I think) bar that had pear with the dark chocolate – YUM. And, I knew a guy who made his own truffles, and my favorites were, believe it or not, dark chocolate curry and dark chocolate garlic. I know, it sounds disgusting. But oh my god, they were SO good! I’ve sadly lost touch with him, so I can’t get the recipe – if I could, I’d be making them!!

    P.S. I have a GREAT, SUPER EASY recipe for homemade truffles if you ever want…damn tasty, and no trouble at ALL.

  3. congratulations! Sadly I didn’t make it 😦 but didn’t really expect too since I am not very active at foodbuzz. I see I missed your call today…we’ll catch up soon…after you are done making your next round.

Leave a Reply

