Not All Leftovers Are Created Equal

I eat a lot of leftovers.

I’ll be the first one to admit it.

At least 30% of my diet is reheated.

I have no shame in saying that.

That being said, I recognize the simple fact that not all leftovers are created equal.

012

My favorite leftover, hands down, has to be spaghetti. There is just something about it.

In college, I even used to eat leftover spaghetti for breakfast. Sometimes even in my first class of the day. Students of WSU, I apologize.

The worst leftover IMO? Roasted potatoes.

013

They lose their edge in the microwave. The crispiness disintegrates. They seem grainy and somehow less cooked though they have now been cooked twice. All the magic is gone.

Walnut crusted salmon, on the other hand, reheats marvelously.

3 Responses

  1. I’m with you. I eat a lot of leftovers. I love it. Saves me money on lunch, and it’s usually much healthier than anything I’d eat at a restaurant.

  2. I also eat a lot of leftovers, though less so since I married a leftover-munching machine. I love to cook a big stew/soup type thing and eat what I want for a week or so (though by mid-late week I get less and less enthused about it and more – frighteningly – enamored of the fast food restaurants near the office), then freeze what’s left and enjoy a nice tasty treat a month or so later. However, just like your leftovers, not all freezable items are created equal. 🙂 Great post.

    Erin

  3. I eat leftovers a lot too and you’re right: one of my favorites is pasta. So yummy and tasty the second day. My second favorite has to be chili. Something about it just makes it better the second day. I haven’t had it as a leftover in quite a while (it’s not really a summer dish, but I look forward to it.

Leave a Reply

