Boy in the Kitchen

I am definitely what one would call a bit of a control freak. I can’t help it. It’s in my blood.

I’ll be honest, I had a bit of a hard time just sitting back and trying to enjoy having a meal prepared for me, without my hands in at all.

It was especially hard when I came home to no internet and found myself aimlessly wandering around. Normally, I would have just started dinner prep. Chopping the onions, setting out all the spices, preheating the oven.

But no.

Instead, I settled for emptying the dishwasher.

Not nearly as much fun. And fortunately, the internet came back in a jiffy.

So tonight, I took the role as a photographer. At least I’m still involved that way.

023

I picked the recipe, he made it. It’s one we had before that I had fond memories.

Black Beans a la Olla (detox friendly!)

029030024036038041045 043046048052    

He cooks with beer.

054057059063

Somehow, I missed the green onions going in!

We served it up over a baked sweet potato.

069

By no fault of my darling husband, this was better last time we made it. I preferred it with the extra beans and tomato sauce.

074

I handled the dishes afterward – it was a nice change of pace actually! I did lend a helping hand here and there, but that’s only fair. He helps me out more than I know.

076

I’m off to work on those blondies from last night!

Leave a Reply

