Epic Fail

Baking #fail.

024

Baking is so not my forte.

029

This was supposed to be a wonderful amazing rosemary loaf as seen at Macaroni Grill.

image

Um. No. Mine doesn’t look like that. Fail of epic proportions.

I followed this recipe. The only changes I made were half wheat/half white, and reduced the sugar a tiny bit. What gives? Mine obviously didn’t rise at all. And it was extraordinarily salty.

I guess I’ll have to try again. I really want some damn rosemary bread!

***Rewind***

Lunch: Leftover spiced quinoa. It was very good.

031

Afternoon snack: homemade hummus and tomatoes. Hit. The. Spot. I wish I had more to dip into my hummus!

033

Dinner was simmering in the crockpot all day!

022

Chicken Tortilla Soup

011

It’s one of those things that is different every time but you can find the basic recipe here. Today, I only used 2 chicken breasts, 2 cups of corn, an entire jar of salsa, and added two small cans of diced green chilies.

008

I missed the sour cream and cheese that I usually top my soup with but I needed to give my digestive system a break. But the chips and cilantro were good enough for me.

013

4 Responses

  1. Sorry the bread didn’t work out. The other food looks great:)

  2. Sorry you inherited the non-baking bone from me. However, I do have double the years of experience so I can share a little tidbit with you. When you replace whole wheat with white flour, don’t replace more than 25% or you will have flat heavy bread. Also, the amount of sugar is essential. It helps the yeast to do its thing. That’s why I have a hard time baking, you actually have to measure!

    Your soup looks amazing though.

  3. Yeast eludes me, that’s why I use beer 😉

  4. See I’m a MUCH better baker. Except when it comes to bread. For some reason the yeast never rises for me!

Leave a Reply

