Risotto Snob

Yep, “surprise” audit this morning at work! Fortunately it was quick and easy and the auditor was out by 10:30 so we could resume business.

Morning Snack

I cracked open a Chobani and a cup of herbal tea right away.

030

For some reason, the yogurt didn’t settle right with me. Nothing wrong with it, just wasn’t feeling it I guess? I really prefer my yogurt to warm up a bit; I don’t like it so much straight out of the fridge so maybe that was the problem?

032

But I did suck down a few cups of tea.

031

Lunch

Lunch couldn’t come fast enough today. For some reason, my hunger has been insatiable.

033

Leftover lemon pepper chicken and a butt-ton of green beans.

036

And in the 6 weeks I have been working here, today I got my first comment on my food – “Smells good! Whatcha eatin’?” Butter Better than “What’s that smell?!” that I used to get all the time at my old office. 😉

I scraped off all the burnt bits from the pan after cooking the chicken and threw it on top – YUM!

034

*nom*nom*nom*

Basically right after lunch, I went home! All of the stuff on my to-do list for the day were things that could be (and would rather be) accomplished away from the office. Including finishing off the near 300 mailers I’ve been working on the last 48 hours. Not fun but someone’s gotta do it.

Dinner

I was really excited going into tonight’s meal – Risotto was on the menu!

How much do I love risotto?

THIS MUCH:

Risotto with Sautéed Shrimp, Corn, and Fresh Basil

Pumpkin Risotto (!!)

Risotto with bell pepper, onion, edamame, spinach, and basil

Grilled Scallop Risotto at Elliott’s

Sundried Tomato Risotto

Bacon & Mushroom Risotto (the best!)

Lemon Risotto

Lobster Risotto at the Rehearsal Dinner

Bacon Risotto

Risotto Primavera

And that is just the past year! Well, here’s another notch on the belt!

Zucchini Risotto

Ingredients
  • 7 cups vegetable or chicken stock I used 4 c. chicken stock, 4 c. water
  • 1 tablespoon butter Smart Balance
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cups Arborio rice, uncooked
  • 1/2 medium zucchini, thinly sliced with a vegetable peeler 3 small zucchini
  • 10 sun-dried tomatoes, softened and chopped
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme, crushed
  • 6 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan (or mozzarella) cheese Definitely a bit more than that
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil leaves, or to taste (optional) x2 – not optional IMO.
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste
Directions
  1. Bring vegetable or chicken stock to a boil in a medium stock pot, then reduce heat to a low simmer.
  2. Melt butter in a large, heavy bottomed stock pot over medium heat. Stir in onions and cook for 2 minutes, or until softened. Add the rice and cook for another 2 minutes, stirring constantly, until lightly toasted. Gradually ladle in simmering vegetable stock, stirring continuously. Risotto will become "creamy" and slightly sticky, yet still firm in the center, or al dente.
  3. When almost finished, stir in the zucchini, sun-dried tomatoes, and thyme, adding stock as needed and stirring continuously. Stir in basil and 3 tablespoons cheese just before serving. Divide risotto among 6 bowls, sprinkle with remaining cheese, and season with pepper to taste.

In my humble opinion, this was actually quite bland. I love the concept but something was lacking. If I were to have a do-over, I’d double the tomatoes and basil (again) and add a nice amount of salt. And use wine. And more butter. Can’t go wrong with more butter. All that being said, I guess it was decent. Mostly just needed salt.

018

Pretty though, ain’t it?

To go with, I roasted up some carrots in EVOO + kosher salt and drizzled them with balsamic when serving.

016

We used two of the serving dishes from the wedding for plates today!

022024

What, you don’t eat of serveware?! 😉

028

Not too shabby. I think I’m just a risotto snob. But I think I’ve earned that right!

We’re off to watch a movie! Happy night!

One Response

  1. I love all of your recipes!! everything looks so delicious

Leave a Reply

