T.T + B.B.

All Wrapped Up!

I wrapped up today!

045

It actually really helped my ankle today! Felt much more stable! I’m hoping in a few days that I’m back to normal!

Lunch

Lunch was leftovers of course – leftover curried bisque!

043

With a side of FSTG multigrain chips.

044

Scoop method was practiced!

042

Dinner

When I got home from work, I got right down to business in the kitchen – dinner was a long one but ridiculously easy!

It all started with an impulse buy last night!

015

Meat on sale? Don’t mind if I do!

016

Normally I like to get organic chicken but I know that Foster Farms is second best. And I’m not one to pass up a deal.

017

I’ve never actually had turkey tenderloin before and was intrigued. And “Island Teriyaki” sounded like a party in my mouth!

020

I cooked it exactly as the instructions on the back indicated – 350* for 40 minutes.

021

Cooked to perfection!

028

5 meals for $5 – I like it!

035

To go with, I found a delicious barley recipe on AllRecipes.

Barley Bake

Ingredients
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 cup uncooked pearl barley +1/4 cup
  • 1/2 cup pine nuts
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup sliced fresh mushrooms + 1 cup
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) cans vegetable broth 32 oz chicken broth
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Melt butter in a skillet over medium-high heat. Stir in onion, barley, and pine nuts. Cook and stir until barley is lightly browned. Mix in green onions, mushrooms, and parsley. Season with salt and pepper. Transfer the mixture to a 2 quart casserole dish, and stir in the vegetable broth.
  3. Bake 1 hour and 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until liquid has been absorbed and barley is tender.

(Recipe here)

My proportions were a bit off. It was a little liquidy still. But I had a little over 1 cup of barley and wanted to make it work. But other than that, it was delicious!

024

I topped it with a little bit more green onion.

034

I love the pine nut crunch! And I think barley might be my new favorite grain – the chew factor!

038

I think you could add even more  mushrooms and use this as a 1-dish dinner. But the way I did it tonight, we got 6 generous servings out of it.

030

Dinner was perfect. It felt like comfort food!

3 Responses

  1. I. LOVE. Barley. Period.

  2. looks delish! Gonna have to look for the Turkey tenderloin next shopping trip.

Leave a Reply

