Spiced Bisque

For once, I created my own recipe. Usually, I follow (albeit, sometimes quite loosely) a recipe. But today, I worked on a whim in the kitchen.

And it felt good.

286

It started with the huge tupperware of leftover roasted root vegetables from last week.

282

That is 8 cups of carrots, sweet potato, turnip, rutabaga.

It’s been staring at me. Every time I open the fridge. So I finally used it up. I’ve had soup on the mind.

Sorry I didn’t take pictures as I went, I was just going with it!

I started by chopping an onion and 3 large garlic cloves and sautéing in a large pot in some olive oil over medium heat.

Then I added 2 chopped bell peppers and 2 large mushrooms, chopped. Sauté for a few more minutes.

Add 1 carton of chicken broth (32oz) and 2 cups of water.

Bring on the spices! I used curry powder, cumin seed, mustard seed, cardamom, cinnamon, nutmeg, cayenne, turmeric. I think that’s it. Oh, and salt.

I simmered it for a good hour then used my immersion blender to puree it.

285

Looks like baby food but boy was it good! It was an excellent dinner.

Lunch was a snack basically – breakfast was so heavy!

278

Chips + hummus! Homemade hummus! It probably could be better but not bad for my first attempt with my new food processor.

280

The boy and I split this over a couple Scrabble games.

Time to shut down and relax! Tomorrow morning is going to come too fast!

2 Responses

  1. That looks kinda delicious. Good job!

Leave a Reply

