Lime & Coconut

Today flew right by! I had a day full of meetings! Including a lunch meeting at Olive Garden!

image

I went with the soup, salad & breadsticks of course! Sorry, no pics though – I didn’t want to whip out my camera in the middle of a 15-person business meeting. 😉

Usually, when I get home from work, I dink around a bit and then get to dinner. We usually have dinner pretty early. Just because I’m a grumbly cranky mess if I don’t. But tonight we switched it up a bit.

When I got home, I did my usual dinking around a bit. Then the boy got home and decided to take advantage of the non-raining sky to mow the lawn. Then we hurriedly took Pippin to check the mail and for her walk/play time in the field across the way.

034

Why hurriedly you might ask?

Well, we have had some neighborhood drama already. I won’t bore you with the deets but basically, there is a snooty Association member that is allowing us to take Pippin to that field as long as we aren’t in the vicinity around 7 when she takes her dog there.

Insert massive eyeroll here.

Whatever. So we took Pippin before 7 so it wouldn’t be an issue.

So dinner was later.

End of story.

So on to the good stuff, right?

015

Oh. My.

017

I happened to run across this recipe last week and instantly fell in love!

Sautéed Fish with Coconut and Lime Sauce

Ingredients

3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice

1 cup canned light coconut milk

1/2 teaspoon grated lime zest

1 serrano chile, thinly sliced into rounds

8 thin slices peeled gingerroot

2 stalks lemon grass (optional)

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1/2 cup flour

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

4 (6-ounce) pieces opah or other mild firm fish such as mahi mahi or snapper


Cooking Instructions

For the fish, combine the flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper in a shallow dish and mix well. Dredge the opah pieces in the flour mixture and shake to remove the excess. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add the opah. Cook until golden brown on both sides. Remove and keep warm.
For the sauce, peel the lemon grass and trim to the white part. Bruise the white parts of the stalks with the back of a knife. Wipe out the skillet used for the opah and combine the lemon grass, coconut milk, lime juice, lime zest, gingerroot, chile and remaining 1 teaspoon salt in the skillet. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Boil for 5 minutes to reduce the sauce slightly and blend the flavors, stirring occasionally.
Slide the browned opah into the sauce. Reduce the heat and simmer for 2 minutes. Remove the lemon grass and discard. Serve with steamed rice.

013 

I say it again. Oh. My.

009

Slightly sweet. A little spicy. A tiny bit too salty but fantastic nonetheless.

I served it over last night’s leftover coconut basmati rice which was perfect.

014

To go with, I roasted a TON of root vegetables in an apple juice and white wine reduction. I followed a recipe, and it sucked, so I won’t waste our time posting it.

007 016

The one cute thing about having a glass table?

018

An onlooker!

019 

2 Responses

  1. Hmmm your neighbor sounds like a pain in the ass! I say if you pay dues too, you can go whenever you want!

  2. That face!! I melt. That fish/rice combo sounds awesome.

Leave a Reply

