Brats ‘n Kraut

After work today, I did some yoga in my studio. I gave Power Yoga a try – this time, with Jamie.

I don’t know what the deal was. I don’t know if I didn’t like her or if I wasn’t into it or what was going on but this was rough to get through. I ended up stopping it half way through and doing some free-flow stuff. My lower back was bothering me and I just didn’t feel strong today. I guess that’s how it goes some days.

Dinner was easy! Crockpot!

I use my corckpot pretty regularly – especially in the winter. The problem I’ve had in the past is that with my old job and my old commute, it was at least 10 hours from the time I left the house to the time I returned to turn off the crockpot. Now, it’s only 8-9 hours so that helps. We’ve talked about getting a crock with a timer on it but decided it wasn’t a priority item.

077

So this morning, into the crock went:

  • venison hot beer links (5), sliced diagonally
  • 1 32oz jar of sauerkraut
  • 5 large carrots, cut into 1” chunks
  • 1 Walla Walla sweet onion, julienned
  • 1 beer, German lager of course
  • 1/2 cup of unfiltered apple juice

Left on low, all day – 7:45a to 4:15p, then turned to warm until ~6p.

075

Channeling my inner German tonight!

Served with some mashed potaters! Red potatoes, skin on, boiled, drained, mashed with Smart Balance butter, soymilk, a wheee bit of sour cream, salt, pepper, garlic powder.

076 080

Yeah, yeah, not the healthiest dinner but it’s comfort food. And it’s easy. And it’s delicious. So there. 😛

081

After dinner, we took Pippin out! There is this really massive “field” across the street from the subdivision! It’s great for her to run off leash!

048 038

We had a ball! (Literally and figuratively!)

029068

We tuckered her out good!

032055057

Adore my pooch!

049

We are snuggling up to watch an SJP movie!

2 Responses

  1. I usually don’t like Krat but when it’s IN a dish, it’s good!

  2. I haven’t had sauerkraut since I was a kid, and I remember hating it. But your crockpot version was surprising delicious. I’d love to have this meal again (even though it’s not the healthiest).

    LOVE the pics of Pippin. I sure am glad we have that empty lot to take her to.

Leave a Reply

