Southwestern Corn Pudding

New hair in the sunshine!

015

Mmmm, dinner was a keeper!

041

The boy grilled up filleted chicken breasts in a sauce I concocted.

040

In the mix:

  • Tiger Sauce (2/3’s of a jar)
  • Ketchup (~1 Tbs)
  • Mustard (~1 Tbs)
  • Garlic Powder
  • Black Pepper
  • Agave (~1 Tbs)

It was spicy good! I ❤ tiger sauce! My momma turned me on to it like a decade ago!

And there was (more) leftover bean salad.

036

And the star.

035

Southwestern Corn Pudding

  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 4 cups fresh or frozen, thawed corn kernels (from 4 ears), divided
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup low-fat sour cream
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 small jalapeño chile, minced (2 Tbs.)
  • 1 tsp. salt

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat 8 1/2-cup ramekins or custard cups or 8-inch square baking dish with cooking spray, and dust with breadcrumbs.
2. Pulse 3 cups corn kernels in food processor until pulpy and broken down. Transfer to bowl, and stir in remaining 1 cup whole corn kernels.
3. Whisk together eggs, sour cream, cilantro, jalapeño, and salt in separate bowl. Stir corn into egg mixture. Transfer mixture to prepared ramekins, and bake 30 to 40 minutes, or until top is golden.

So I had a little bit of an issue with cooking time. As the recipe calls for, I did 350* for 40 minutes. Then another 10. Then another 10. Then I bumped it up to 450* for another 10. And then I turned it on to a low broil for another 5. Then finally it looked done. Maybe a little too done. My only other complaint was that there were too many breadcrumbs. I think that both of these issues would have been resolved if I had used individual ramekins instead of an 8” dish.

031

Regardless of the issues, oh man was this good. I mean, com’on now! It has like 5 of my top 10 favorite foods! Corn, Sour Cream, Eggs, Cilantro, Jalapeno.

028

If you added butter and bacon, that’d be 7 of my top ten. 😉 I don’t think wine would go so well.

039 042

I had a second slice.

048

Dessert was another new favorite! Banana soft serve! We had the food processor out and all. 😉

051

Tonight, we watched a lame-o Miley Cyrus movie – The Last Song. BUT it was on blu-ray which is super cool.

4 Responses

  1. Love the new haid cut. I always go with the same style when I go to the hair dressers. I need to be more adventursome, but I am always so scared that I will look horrible!! 😦

  2. LOVE the new hair!!

  3. 1) Your hair looks GREAT (even though I’ve already told you that). I’m glad you had fun using your gift certificates to pamper yourself at a new spa. You totally deserved it!

    2) Dinner was freakin’ fantastic! I had fun making it with you. The chicken turned out much better this time, the leftover bean salad was still rather tasty, and that Southwestern Corn Pudding was out-of-this-world delicious. A solid “A”.

    3) Banana soft serve. What can I say, it’s awesome.

    4) How in the world did that Miley Cyrus movie end up in our Netflix queue?!?

  4. New hair is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

