It’s the Little Things

We were lazy bugs this morning and pushed the alarm an hour back. Yoga yesterday was a little more intense than we both imagines! Dave Farmar always kicks butt. My shoulders are especially tight and the Huz was commenting on his core last night!

Breakfast was pretty darn good!

004

I used the last of our eggs (4 for 2 servings), scrambled with arugula and feta.

  005

And a slice of Dave’s with Smart Balance.

003007

So I’ve made a couple of small changes, just to save a few calories here and there. Normally, I don’t worry about calories too much but I’m trying to get back on track so I find myself looking at labels again.

The first change: Dave’s.

I used to eat Good Seed bread. It was seedy and chewy and delicious. But the last time I bought bread, I switched to the 21 Grain – it has 20 less calories per slice. Not a whole lot but the little things add up. It’s still chewy and delicious, just not quite as seedy. It still has the same amount of protein and fiber though so we’re all good.

I also used Smart Balance (instead of butter or a fruit spread) on my toast. I love fruit spread but it is basically all sugar (albeit fruit sugar).

The second change (and I guess you can see this one of two ways) is with my iced coffee. I’ve started doing more coffee, less soymilk. I load my shaker with ice and pour the coffee to ~9 ounces. I’m guessing it isn’t even 6 ounces with all the ice. But saving on a couple ounces of soymilk adds up too

I really believe that this little changes aren’t insignificant and if I can save ~50 calories a meal and workout thus burning more calories, that’s all I’m going to have to really do to lose this little extra weight that has creeped on. No drastic measures necessary. 😉

Leave a Reply

