Panini Party

Wowsers, the next week is going to be insane! Just when I was getting tired of eating out, we lined up a laundry list of dates.

The first one in the line up was me and my grandma going out to lunch today!

Per the recommendation of my boss, we went to Monica’s Waterfront Bakery.

036

You can’t miss the bright yellow building!

037 038 035

It was a cute cafe – they had outdoor seating and additional seating upstairs from the cafe. The menu wasn’t extensive but it all sounded mouth-watering! We both ended up ordering the Roasted Vegetable Panini.

032

Ooey Gooey Goodness! It was sooo cheesy! It tasted like there was a spread of cream cheese in there too?

033

The veggies consisted of mushrooms, broccoli, cauliflower, tomato, and I’m sure there were others hidden in there too.

034

I love that the bread was a flat bread instead of foccacia.

Morning snacks:

020

Still madly in love with Chobani! I think I might have a panic attack if Costco stops carrying it now.

Dinner time!

056

For dinner, I finally cooked up that fresh salmon!

044

I just drizzled it with lemon juice and topped it with fresh rosemary and thyme.

Baked!

055

To go with, I made Barley Summer Salad.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2  cups  uncooked pearl barley
  • 1  cup  fresh corn kernels (about 2 ears)
  • 1  cup  diced seeded plum tomato (about 2 small)
  • 1/2  cup  chopped green onions
  • 1/4  cup  chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 20  kalamata olives, pitted and coarsely chopped
  • 3  tablespoons  fresh lemon juice
  • 2  tablespoons  olive oil
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1  garlic clove, minced
  • 3/4  cup  (3 ounces) crumbled feta cheese

Preparation

1. Cook barley according to package directions, omitting salt. Drain and rinse with cold water; drain. Cool completely. Combine barley, corn, and next 4 ingredients (through kalamata olives) in a bowl. Combine juice and next 4 ingredients (through garlic), stirring well with a whisk; drizzle over barley mixture. Toss to coat. Sprinkle with cheese.

This was actually my first time making barley! I liked it a lot! It was super chewy! Exclamation Point!

039 041 043 046

And I made the suggested side: Lemony Green Beans. (Lemon zest, salt, butter.)

049

Soooo I just saw the calorie count for the barley salad – oh my. Nearly 500 calories for a serving. Eeks! Next time, I think I’ll leave out the feta. The kalamata’s gave it a nice salty flavor already.

057

Dinner was inhaled in approximately 2.3 seconds. I gotta work on that. 

058

Time to curl up with a book in bed! (Almost done with The Carrie Diaries!)

Leave a Reply

