The $9 Tomato

Ahhhh, the $9 tomato.

022

The beautiful heirloom weighed in at a massive 1.5 lbs.

025

Gorgeous.

024

I’m partial to heirlooms ever since reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

023

It was perfect in tonight’s dinner: Zucchini Tomato Gratin. I’ve made similar gratins and been happy so I thought I’d give this one a shot – I liked the olives as a twist!

Serves 4

  • 1 1/2 lb. tomatoes, cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • 2 medium zucchini (1 lb.), cut into 1/8-inch-thick diagonal slices
  • 1 Tbs. plus 1 tsp. olive oil, divided
  • 4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 2 Tbs. roughly chopped kalamata olives
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced basil leaves
  • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (1 1/2 oz.), divided

Directions

1. Drape tomato slices over colander, sprinkle with salt, and let drain 45 minutes.

2. Spread zucchini on baking sheet, and sprinkle with salt. Let stand 30 minutes to sweat out excess moisture. Rinse well, and pat dry.

3. Preheat oven to 375°F. Heat 1 tsp. oil in nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Sauté zucchini 3 to 4 minutes, or until golden. Transfer to plate. Do this in 2 batches if necessary, adding more oil between batches.

4. Layer half of zucchini slices in 8-inch-square baking pan. Top with half of tomatoes. Sprinkle with half of garlic, 1 Tbs. olives, half of basil, and ı/4 cup Parmesan cheese; season with freshly ground black pepper. Repeat with remaining zucchini, tomatoes, garlic, olives, and basil. Drizzle top with 1 Tbs. oil, and sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup cheese. Cover with foil, and bake 10 minutes. Remove foil, and bake 20 minutes more, or until cheese is melted and gratin is bubbling. Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

This was my first time “sweating” vegetables! I liked seeing the little droplets form! OSMOSIS! 😀 (Er… I think.)

033

(I threw in a couple random slices of tomato I already had in the fridge too.)

Fresh basil

028 

Garlic slices

029 

Chopped kalamata’s

030 

Sautéed zucchini

032

I was a little scared by the lack of density in the dish. This was our main dish, with no sides. Hmm. The hunger bug has bitten me. I was feeling snacky all day. As a result, I drank about a million cups of tea at work and downed 2 handfuls of grape tomatoes when I got home. I didn’t think this guy was gonna hack it for dinner.

039

Sadly, it was still pretty watery.

040 043

I had a piece of toast with Smart Balance, sprinkled with Italian seasoning, to add a little bulk to the dinner.

042

I was actually pretty satisfied from this meal. The bread helped. 😀

046

After dinner, I worked for a couple of hours while the Huz watched a movie.

He poured us some vino to help get me through my tedious work. 😉

050

(I had the shrimpier one on the right, x2!)

Hands down one of my favorite wines ever – and it’s cheap! So smooooth!

After an 11 hour workday, I’m ready to chillax! Peace out, girl scouts!

2 Responses

  1. We had a tomato exactly like that last night! Cubed heirloom tomato with cubed mozzarella, balsamic vinegar, italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Perfect salad!

  2. Hahaha, that exact concept is actually a huge part of what we do in dialysis! Nature wants a balance; the salt/water ratio is higher on the outside than on the inside – a hypertonic solution. Water moves out of the zucchini towards the salt, until the balance is the same – homeostasis. I’m a huge science nerd, did we mention this?

Leave a Reply

