I’m a Corny Gal

Kind of had a pathetic go at the gym this morning. 😦 I guess we are still trying to get adjusted to getting up that early and getting going. What do they say? 21 days to make a habit? We’ll get there. I’m not beating myself up about it.

On my way out the door, I ate a piece of Dave’s with an Almond Butter smear.

001

By the light of an open fridge! With camera strap dangling to the right.

At the gym, I did 20 minutes on the upright bike. I did 5 minutes of warm-up then 15 minutes of hill intervals. The low interval, I was at ~50 rpm, little resistance, and the high interval I was ~110’s-120’s rpm, moderate resistance. Towards the end, I was having to adjust a lot. My toes were numb and my left foot was cramping in the arch. But I felt fine otherwise. Bummer. I headed into the aerobics room and did mass quantities of stretching. My hamstrings are so tight, it isn’t even funny. Tomorrow is weights again – wahoo! I feel like I get the best workout when I’m following a weight-lifting plan.

Breakfast was a trip to the Caribbean!

008

Banana oatmeal + sliced almonds + pitted dates + flakes of (unsweet) coconut!

003

Yummy! This is one of my fav combos – haven’t had it in forever!

004 005

Work was a busy one for me today! Love that! I worked through lunch (I usually do, by choice!)

Today, I doubled up on small portions of two different leftovers that didn’t really go together but whatevs.

024

Chicken & Rice Casserole and the Zucchini Penne Pistou.

It was the perfect portion!

Oh yeah, and I had an HB egg ~11:30 before lunch while I was stuck on the phone with tech support.

Dinner was another Cooking Light meal!

I got excited for this recipe because I love corn. I always have. I’d eat canned corn and cream of corn soup straight out of the can. I love putting corn on my salads. I like corn on the cob. Cornbread. Cornflakes. Popcorn. Corn nuts. Corndogs. Candy Corn. You name it, I eat it.

Summer Squash and Corn Chowder

014

Ingredients

  • 2  slices applewood-smoked bacon
  • 3/4  cup  sliced green onions, divided
  • 1/4  cup  chopped celery
  • 1  pound  yellow summer squash, chopped
  • 1  pound  frozen white and yellow baby corn kernels, thawed and divided
  • 2 1/4  cups  1% low-fat soymilk, divided
  • 1  teaspoon  chopped fresh dried thyme
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/8  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  cup  (1 ounce) shredded extra-sharp cheddar cheese

Preparation

1. Cook bacon in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat until crisp. Remove bacon from pan, reserving 2 teaspoons drippings in pan. Crumble bacon, and set aside. Add 1/2 cup onions, celery, and squash to drippings in pan; sauté 8 minutes or until vegetables are tender.

2. Reserve 1 cup corn; set aside. Place the remaining corn and 1 cup milk in a blender; process until smooth. Add remaining 1 1/4 cups milk, thyme, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and pepper to blender; process just until combined. Add pureed mixture and reserved 1 cup corn to pan. Reduce heat to medium; cook 5 minutes or until thoroughly heated, stirring constantly. Stir in 1/8 teaspoon salt. Ladle about 1 1/2 cups soup into each of 4 bowls; top each serving with about 1 tablespoon bacon, 1 tablespoon remaining onions, and 1 tablespoon cheese.

It was pretty easy and quick to make. I resisted the urge to double the bacon. I also only put the tiniest sprinkle of cheese on my bowl.

015

We only got 3 servings out of this. Maybe because I omitted the celery so it lost a little bulk? That shouldn’t be the case… Maybe we are just oinkers?

016

We even had a side salad to give us our fill.

 021

Boy made salad!

017

Girl made dressing!

020

I don’t know if I would make this again as is. It needs a little oomph to the recipe.

Anyway. A hunk of dark chocolate went down the hatch directly after dinner to take the onion breath away. It’s 6:30 and we are done with dinner and our chores for the evening! Time to snuggle up and go to bed EARLY!

2 Responses

  1. I LOVE Dave’s Killer Bread. It’s amazing. And the store is right by my house. Sooo tempting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

