Mixing It Up

The alarm went off at 4:45 and the boy and I exchanged mutual grumbles and decided it would be in our best interest to sleep for another hour instead of go to the gym. Best to ease into working out, right? 😉 We are both actually pretty sore (in a good way) so the day off was kind of nice. The hour of sleep was priceless.

Breakfast was down and dirty, quick and easy!

belgian-waffle-van

WAFFLES!

004

We reheated leftover waffles from last week (frozen) and topped it was AB sauce (almond butter + soymilk).

001

My waffle was a little deformed. But delicious.

Super exciting today! The boy and I left our respective jobs a little after 10 this morning to play hooky for the rest of the day!

014

Yep! We went to a Mariners game! A big group of people from his work got tickets to go so we joined it. Can’t stay away from the city for too long!

We grabbed lunch on the way to the (late) ferry.

008

Subway is so ridiculously easy and cheap. *sigh*

Buffalo chicken, no cheese, on wheat, lots of veggies, extra buffalo sauce and ranch.

009

Eaten en route to Seattle!

010

We also played some cribbage. (It’s an hour long ferry ride.)

011

I won. 3 times over the course of the day.

We were also super ninja and brought bottled water. We drank half of one with lunch so I spiked the rest of it with some Pom!

012

Unfortunately, it got confiscated going into the stadium. BOO.

We hiked down to the stadium then hiked up to the nose bleed cheap-o seats.

016

Good news – I got to test out my new lens.

026 035 051 062 071

Not too shabby, eh?

One of the guys lined up a couple reader boards for the group!

059029 

Sweet!

078

We had a dandy time – Mariners lost 1-5 though.

088

Afterwards, we headed with a couple guys down to Pyramid brewery.

089

Can’t go to a brewery and not have brew! I had a Curveball (blonde).

The boy and I split the pita dip plate.

092

And I had a few of George’s garlic fries with aioli.

We trekked back to the ferry (1 mile), played some cribbage, then headed home… almost.

We stopped at Safeway to pick up a couple things.

And ended up here.

094 097

The Toadhouse is a place that Jodus has been mentioning he’d like to go to. It’s basically right next to Safeway so why not?

I loved the atmosphere and decor right away.

099 102 100

And I love that the wood-fire stove was open!

098 122

There was a small patio area out back but it was pretty full so we sat inside.

109

The place has a TON of beers.

103

But in an effort to save calories (and money), we stuck with water.

106

I started with a green side salad.

114

It was pretty basic. I jazzed it up with some balsamic.

113

We split the Dragon Fire pizza.

108 118

It wasn’t as spicy as I thought it was going to be. But it was a classic style pizza – white doughy crust, cheesy, meaty. Not my favorite style but it’s pretty good now and again.

125 126

I had 2 slices and I’m making the boy take the leftovers for his lunch.

Going out on a Wednesday is totally random and fun and really breaks up the week! The next two days are going to fly!

One Response

  1. Oh how I would love to go to a Mariners game!

Leave a Reply

