Killing It

Ok, getting up at 4:45 after polishing off a bottle of champagne and staying up a whee bit later than you would have liked is not easy.

But we did it! And thanks to my virtual trainer, I had a great workout!

Awhile back, I had asked Susan if she’d be willing to help get me back on track with my exercise routine. Our virtual relationship goes back years when we were both logging our New Rules of Lifting for Women workouts on The Daily Plate! I think I randomly ran across her blog and was like, “HEY! I know you!”

Well now that she’s a fancy schmancy trainer in the big city, I’m sooo not above taking advantage of that! 😉 Check out Phase 1 of the workout plan she’s got me on!

Today’s playlist – The Killers

So I started off today with 5 hard minutes on the stair stepper. Then I went and got set up for my first alternating set and did a bit of stretching.

  Exercise Set 1 Set 2 Set 3
1a Step-Ups
(4 risers)
8# DBs, x12 8# DBs, x12 8# DBs, x12
1b DB Bench Press 8# DBs, x12 8# DBs, x12 8# DBs, x12
2a DB Romanian
Deadlift
10# DBs, x12 12# DBs, x12 15# DBs, x12
2b Squat to row 40#, x12 40#, x12 40#, x12
3a Twisting Mountain Climbers 45 sec 45 sec 30 sec
3b Arnold Press 10#, x12 10#, x12 8#, x12
4a Plank 45 sec 35 sec 45 sec
4b Twist on Bosu 2#, 30 2#, 28 2#, 28

Boy am I out of shape. I started on the lower side of weights just since it has been so long but many of these were challenging! Here’s my thoughts:

Alternating Set 1 – I didn’t rest at all during these. I can definitely go up.

Alternating Set 2 – Obviously I kept increasing my deadlift. I think I might be able to go up a little more next time but the squat to row was just right – I could tell my form was a bit shaky at the end of each set.

Alternating Set 3 – Kill. Me. Now. Those mountain climbers kicked. my. ass. She wanted me doing 1-2 min. HA! I could barely make it past 30 seconds. Maybe I’m going too fast? And the heels of my shoes kept slipping. I was starting to get tired with the Arnolds and my form was shot so I lowered my weight for the last set.

Alternating Set 4 – I’ve always sucked at planks. And those twists were hard. Obviously, my balance totally sucks. And I only used a 2lb medicine ball to get used to the movement and work on form but holy hell. FAIL. I basically ended up breaking each set in half and resting for a second in between. ABS ENGAGED.

Overall, I really feel good about the workout. You have to have a starting point I guess. I can tell I’m going to be sore tomorrow – in a good way. Like my hips are already tight, and my shoulders are stiff.

On the way home, I gave the boy the option between eggs or oatmeal for breakfast. We went back and forth on it. I’m a genius and decided on both!

001

Spicy oats! Oatmeal (cooked in water) + Cholula.

004

I like the little bit of green onion for color!

006

Lunch time rolled around in no time – leftover chicken and rice casserole!

022

Plus a banana and HB egg for an afternoon snack.

023

My banana was definitely on its last leg. I’m freezing the rest of the bunch TONIGHT.

I worked right up until 5 today – I’ve been leaving between 2-4 the last week or so! It just flew by! As a result, the rest of the evening was pushed back a bit. But I actually didn’t mind at all.

After I got home, we walked down to the mailbox, came in and changed, and did some yoga to streeeetcccch our muscles out! 20 minutes of Power Yoga!

It was an advanced beginner level and I was feeling really confident through it. I think I am definitely at the intermediate level now! But my cute husband – not so much! He’s a typical boy and not at all flexible! He struggled on a couple poses. But he has only done yoga maybe a handful of times. I’m so proud that he’s willing to do it with me! I can’t wait until he starts kicking my butt and asking to do it!

Dinner was very flavorful! Me like!

015

Penne with Zucchini Pistou (Cooking Light July 2010)

Ingredients

  • 4  teaspoons  extra-virgin olive oil, divided (eyeballed)
  • 2 1/2  cups  (1/4-inch-thick) slices small zucchini (about 3/4 pound) (2 medium/large)
  • 1  cup  packed basil leaves
  • 1/2  cup  (2 ounces) shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, divided
  • 2  tablespoons  pine nuts, toasted
  • 4  garlic cloves, chopped (plus a couple extra for good measure)
  • 2  cups  chopped Vidalia or other sweet onion (about 1 large)
  • 6  quarts water
  • 1 3/4  teaspoons  kosher salt, divided
  • 8  ounces  uncooked whole wheat penne pasta
  • 1/4  cup  heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper

Preparation

1. Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add zucchini to pan; sauté 5 minutes or until tender and golden. Remove from pan; cool.

2. Place 1/4 cup cooked zucchini, basil, 1/4 cup cheese, pine nuts, and garlic in a food processor; process until finely chopped. (Keep mixture in processor.)

3. Heat remaining 2 teaspoons oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion to pan; sauté 10 minutes or until golden. Return remaining cooked zucchini to pan. Remove from heat.

4. Combine 6 quarts water and 1 teaspoon kosher salt in a large Dutch oven, and bring to a boil. Cook pasta in boiling water according to package directions. Drain in a sieve over a bowl, reserving 1/3 cup cooking liquid. Add pasta to vegetables.

5. With processor on, add reserved liquid to basil mixture; process until smooth. Add basil mixture to pasta. Add cream, remaining salt, and pepper; stir. Top with remaining cheese.

It was pretty darn easy to make and packed a flavor punch! I loved it! This is a definite make-again! I think I would add extra zucchini next time just to bulk it up a wheee bit more.

012 016 017

(Still in love with these pasta bowls!)

I’m off to watch an episode of the final (sniff sniff) season of The L Word!

2 Responses

  1. Haha, so from the sounds of it, we need to work on your core strength 😉 Don’t worry if you can’t get up to my times suggested, it’ll just be something to work towards! Your strength will come back quickly too, you’ll notice it getting easier within a couple weeks. If your abs are sore, my favourite stretch is to just lay on my back with legs straight out and arms straight overhead on the floor. Feels sooooo good.

    Spicy oats! I don’t think I’ve had that since the winter. Now I want some.

  2. I loved the L Word (original show). I was bummed it ended too. 😦

    We have pasta bowls like that from IKEA. Love em!

Leave a Reply

