Jam Packed!

Wow! Yesterday was a day! We started early (for us, anyway!). The alarm went off at 7 and we pretty much went non-stop until 10pm without a break!

We started with spotted monsters for a little morning snack. We had a breakfast agenda but it was still a couple hours off so this was perfect to start our day.

004

In the mix: soymilk, banana, blueberries, spinach.

003

Trying new texture backgrounds for photos!

002

The fireplace worked nicely. 🙂

010

We headed out with lists in hand.

First stop: coffee!

012

I had a tall soy misto. That’s my drink! I get it 90% of the time I order coffee. So yummy!

Second stop: bank to deposit a check!

Third stop: a neighborhood garage sale that we heard about from one of Jodus’ coworkers. We checked out their house (Gorgeous! I have kitchen envy!) and hit up a few of the sales and came home with a cute little $4 table for outside.

Next stop: Poulsbo!

019 016

So we live in Bremerton.

It’s mostly  just the naval base. It’s not what most people would consider “nice”. There aren’t many nice dining establishments, it’s lacking in the culture department a little bit. BUT we are just a ferry ride to Seattle. And on this side of the water, we can get our “cute town” intake by driving 20 minutes to Poulsbo.

013 014 017 020 021

It’s a really cute Scandinavian town with a historic downtown. The Icelandic in me holds this town (and it’s bakeries!) near and dear!

022 023 024

We were originally planning on just hitting up said bakeries for breakfast (read: lefse!) but garage-sale-ing took a whee bit longer than anticipated and we felt we needed a bit more of a substantial breakfast.

025 026

Jodus had been to Tinzley’s for Happy Hour before (he used to live in Poulsbo, eons ago!) and had fond memories.

027 028

They had a small menu, and not quite as European as I was hoping for but we managed, all right!

030 032

Unfortunately, we were seated behind a large group of chatty women that detracted from our meal enjoyment. Oh well.

029

Spinach and tomato eggs benedict.

034

With a side of hash.

036

I exhibited some self control and only ate half of the hashbrowns! This is an accomplishment for me! Mindful eating FTW!

035

The boy got biscuits and gravy.

 038

I had a couple bites. They were really smoky tasting. It was interesting.

With a side of over-medium eggs.

039

Smile!

041

The menu prices were great but we weren’t wowed. Not sure if we would return again. I think there are other restaurants in Poulsbo we would go to first.

Next stop: Poulsbo Farmer’s Market

045

Bremerton’s Farmer’s Market is lame-o. It’s tiny and on Thursdays or something. We heard through the grapevine that Poulsbo & Bainbridge Island had the best ones. Poulsbo also has my most favorite ever grocery store so I think we are going to make a routine of going there.

043 044

We got a few things. Zucchini, summer squash, green onion, basil. I was a tiny bit disappointed in the selection but I can’t wait to bring Pippin to hang out! (We are spoiled by the awesomeness of the Edmonds Farmers Market.)

After the market, we headed to the grocery store and did some serious damage to the bulk bins. Oh Central Market, how I’ve missed thee! There was a Central Market reasonably close to our digs prior to Edmonds so we probably went monthly back in the day. I’m hoping to go weekly now! It’s my fav!

We headed back down to Silverdale and hit up Costco for a couple things – including lunch!

047

By this point, it was nearly 2pm and we were hangry! And Dad was on his way so we had to eat something asap. The turkey wraps did the trick.

What transpired over the next couple hours was a bit of a headache.

Jodus and Dad headed out in Dad’s SUV to go pick up our new TV Stand and TV.

We had purchased the TV stand yesterday from Pier 1 – it was on sale and we had a coupon! Score! They get it home and the spot for the DVD player isn’t big enough to hold a DVD player. WTF? After much deliberation and some internet searches, we decided that isn’t going to work for us so we returned it. That means loading the stand back up in to the rig, going back into town, dealing with their crappy management. le sigh.

So we are out a TV stand. Jodus and I had looked at the majority of places for furniture like that last night when we were out breaking the bank. So tonight, we tried one other place, then Jodus decided we should go back to Target again to look there because apparently we didn’t look good enough the first time around? Hu. I recall looking. Well, whatev.

So we are back in Target, and lo and behold. What TV stand does he like?

The one I pointed out last night that he said would be too hard to match furniture with in the future.

Uh huh.

Guess what we ended up getting, folks?

Yep, the one I wanted to get yesterday that would have saved us 2 hours of driving around and wanting to pull our hair out.

Ok, whatever. We have a TV stand.

We went to Home Depot for a couple things. Then finally headed home.

We did the divide & conquer method once in the door. I headed to the kitchen to start dinner. (It was near 7pm!) Dad worked on fixing the fence for Pippin (in the rain) then came in and helped put together new bar stools we got yesterday (on said Target trip) and the boy got to work on building the new TV stand.

049

Sneak peek!

Beer was in order.

048

(I spy birthday presents?!)

These Miller Lite’s were leftover from when George helped us move in. I guess it is his beer of choice? I’d never had it before and actually really enjoyed it!

Dinner was definitely something to talk about! Lordy it was good!

First up: Sweet Potato Wedges with Cider Reduction from Vegetarian Times!

It was really simple.

For the cider reduction, take 2 cups of unfiltered apple juice, simmered over medium heat for an hour. It boils down to ~ 1/4 cup worth of syrupy goodness.

For the wedges, take 2 large sweet potatoes, cut them into wedges (duh), toss in olive oil and sprinkle with cinnamon, bake at 350* for ~45 minutes.

050

Look at that deliciousness!

052

Heavenly bliss.

053

These were to die for. The great thing is that I still have almost an entire jug of unfiltered apple juice in the fridge that has to get used up so I think these will be in the line up again shortly!

For the veggies, I used a Cooking Light recipe: Grilled Asparagus with Caper Vinaigrette.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2  pounds  asparagus spears, trimmed
  • 3  tablespoons  extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1/2  teaspoon  kosher salt, divided
  • Cooking spray
  • 1  tablespoon  red wine vinegar
  • 1/2  teaspoon  Dijon mustard
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1  garlic clove, minced
  • 2  teaspoons  capers, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4  cup  small basil leaves

Preparation

1. Preheat grill to medium-high heat.

2. Place asparagus in a shallow dish. Add 1 tablespoon oil and 1/4 teaspoon salt, tossing well to coat. Place asparagus on grill rack coated with cooking spray; grill 4 minutes or until crisp-tender, turning after 2 minutes.

3. Combine remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, vinegar, and next 3 ingredients (through garlic); stir with a whisk. Slowly pour remaining 2 tablespoons oil into vinegar mixture, stirring constantly with a whisk. Stir in capers. Arrange asparagus on a serving platter; drizzle with vinaigrette, and sprinkle with basil.

054 

I was happy with how these turned out but I wasn’t wowed. I’m a hard sell though.

057

I might just not have had enough vinaigrette for the mass quantities of asparagus I grilled up.

056

They sure did look pretty though!

And to round out the meal, I made some kebabs with chicken, mushroom, onion, bell pepper, and campari tomato.

058

For a marinade, I used EVOO, lemon juice, garlic, salt, pepper. Simple and delicious.

059

Lots for leftovers!

060

The super exciting thing about this meal was using my new serving platters!

064

And setting the table all nice with our new china and our guest!

061

My plate:

065

Yum! I went back for 5 more asparagus spears and 2 potato wedges.

After dinner, we cleaned up and kept working on setting up the new TV + sound system + Blu-ray player. It took some figuring out but we got there!

And then finally it was time to open my presents from my dad since he isn’t going to be around on Monday for the birthday!

070

Present #1:

075

Haha, I’m a dork.

082

So excited for my new lens! I get to try it out on Wednesday for an adventure into the city!

And present #2 made me laugh my ass off.

087

Last week, while starting to unpack, just as my dad was getting ready to leave, I discovered our pizza stone had broke in the move. I jokingly yelled out – Hey! Now you know what you can get me for my birthday!

090

Yep. I love my dad.

091

Thanks pop!

It was nearly 10pm when he left, and that was past our bedtime! We stayed up for a little bit, enthralled by the picture on our new LCD/LED TV but finally managed to make it up to bed!

A MASSIVE thank you to Jodus’ siblings – Dylan & Kelly – for the gift cards for the wedding that allowed up to get a new TV! (Pictures to come once things are more in order!)

One Response

  1. Poulsbo is a really cute area. I’ve always liked it over there. Lots of great places to ride bikes too!

Leave a Reply

