Take It or Leave It

This morning the boy slept in, he was hurting a little bit more than I was from last night’s festivities! I usually can’t sleep late after a night of drinking. My bet is that that’s due to dehydration more than anything.

For breakfast, I threw together super quick and traditional french toast, complete with butter, syrup, and powdered sugar!

179 180

We spent the morning (and into early afternoon) lazily just watching Netflix. We are totally addicted to The L Word and just cruised our way through Season 4 in a matter of a week!

For lunch, we did another quick and easy meal – black bean burgers and sweet potato fries.

181 182 185

Nothing too special but it hit the spot!

We finally got our rear ends moving after lunch. We worked on laundry, packing, a couple random projects, walked to the grocery store, and back.

Boy treated me to a soy coffee frap on the walk home.

186

It was obviously delicious.

For dinner, in an effort to clean out some pantry items, I made chili.

187

This batch used 2 cans of tomato sauce, 2 cans of diced tomatoes, and one can of each of the following beans: kidney, black, great northern, and garbanzo. It is going to be nice to have 8 less cans to tote to the new house!

Other things in the mix were venison chorizo, corn, chili powder, salt, pepper, cayenne, sugar, cumin, garlic, onion, and garlic powder.

Topped with cheese and plain greek yogurt.

188 197

I like to use my shallow wide bowls for chili (and oatmeal!) to maximize coolage! 😀

200

The Wedding Dress

So, in the packing endeavors today, I saw my wedding dress hanging in the closet.

I know a lot of people have their dress preserved and save it. And I can understand the sentimental value of that. But part of me just wants to get rid of it. It would be nice if I could sell it, either on my own or through consignment and make someone else as happy as I was in that dress on our special day. But will I regret that down the road?

What are your thoughts on it?

8 Responses

  1. My mom threatened to kill me if I got rid of my wedding dress. (But then again, she paid for it.) I got it cleaned, and it’s hanging in my closet, and will be for all eternity. Meh.

  2. I think you should keep your wedding dress. My mom has kept her wedding dress and moved it from England to the United States when my parents moved her 25 years ago. I love my moms dress and I plan on using parts of it for my future wedding dress!! But in reality, it is totally up to you and I hope you make the decision that is best for you!! 🙂

  3. I say keep it, just in case. What if 5 or 10 years down the road you change your minds and decide to have a kid or adopt? What if that child is a girl and when she’s an adult wants to wear your dress…or something? I’m just saying…you could end up regretting it if you get rid of it…
    OR…you could donate it…that might make you feel good too. 😀

  4. Well, you really shouldnt make decisions based on fear about what you may – or may not – regret. (Also, one should not tell other people what they should do). Your dress is cute (its photo is in your “about me” section), but maybe someone else will love it too. HOw about trade it for something on dibspace.com?

  5. My friend got her dress off Craigslist and after the wedding, she sold it on Craigslist. I have mixed feelings. Sometimes I think that someday I’ll want to keep my wedding dress. But other times I think, Why save something you wore for 3 hours?

  6. my husband wants me to sell it so we can have some extra money, but I would never get rid of mine. It’s the only thing aside from photos and video that we still have from the wedding day and I want to be able to look at it every day if I want to. regardless, it’s still hanging in a bag in my closet. haha i need to get moving on cleaning it.

  7. I thought about selling mine/donating it because eventually, I’m going to have another wedding and I don’t know if I’d want to re-wear the same dress or have 2 dresses in my closet. I got my dress on sale w/an additional saving on top of the sale so it was REALLY cheap, so it doesn’t hurt as much getting rid of it.
    I don’t know, I have mixed feelings about it too. I say go with what makes YOU the happiest 🙂

  8. Claudia…there’s nothing wrong with having 2 dresses in your closet…I have my “marriage day” dress and my wedding dress. I have no intention of ever wearing either again, but I love to see them in my closet. Pics are great, but I like to pull them out sometimes, feel the fabric and reminisce.

Leave a Reply

