Chicken Heaven

It’s Thursday! Wheeee!

A day late and a dollar short, we had waffles today.

002

And we made extra so we can pack up the waffle maker. *sniff*sniff* (Only 9 days until Moving Day!)

Waffle toppings: Costco PB, banana, agave.

001

Today was kind of weird at work – I started training my replacement. It is really exhausting to have to basically narrate your entire day. *sigh*

Lunch was randomly consumed.

I ate leftover beet pancakes around 1.

027

They sure aren’t very photogenic, are they?

Then I ate my haphazardly thrown together salad around 2.

024 025 026

Spring mix + hummus reside + half a block of tempeh = serious tummy issues apparently. My stomach is a rumble-y mess after this one. 

We got exciting stuff in the mail this afternoon! It’s a new project to work on. I know, I know. The last thing we need right now is another project but you know what? It needs to get done and I think it would be best to actually knock out before we move.

I was really excited about dinner tonight. It kind of felt like comfort food to me.

The main entree was Cooking Light Walnut and Rosemary Oven-Fried Chicken. This is another one that got rave reviews online so again, I had high expectations.

[I’d like to note here that I’m a tough critic when it comes to food. I’ll pretty much eat anything but for me to really like something and to repeat a dish it means a lot.]

018

  • 1/4  cup  low-fat buttermilk
  • 2  tablespoons  Dijon mustard
  • 4  (6-ounce) chicken cutlets (I used 3 large breasts and filleted them)
  • 1/3  cup  panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
  • 1/3  cup  finely chopped walnuts
  • 2  tablespoons  grated fresh Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 3/4  teaspoon  minced fresh rosemary
  • 1/4  teaspoon  kosher salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • Cooking spray
  • Rosemary leaves (optional)

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 425°.

2. Combine buttermilk and mustard in a shallow dish, stirring with a whisk. Add chicken to buttermilk mixture, turning to coat.

3. Heat a small skillet over medium-high heat. Add panko to pan; cook 3 minutes or until golden, stirring frequently. Combine panko, nuts, and next 4 ingredients (through pepper) in a shallow dish. Remove chicken from buttermilk mixture; discard buttermilk mixture. Dredge chicken in panko mixture.

4. Arrange a wire rack on a large baking sheet; coat rack with cooking spray. Arrange chicken on rack; coat chicken with cooking spray. Bake at 425° for 13 minutes or until chicken is done. Garnish with rosemary leaves, if desired.

Since I had 6 chicken pieces to deal with, I was really heavy handed with all the ingredients to accommodate but I think I did a good job with keeping the ratios!

019

Served with a side of steamed fresh broccoli, sprinkled with a little lemon pepper seasoning.

017

And a baked potato! I can’t remember the last time I had a plain white baked potato! I topped it with chopped onion, butter, greek yogurt, and salt and pepper. I gave the boy some shredded cheese on his.

016

And a Pom-tail.

005 006 007

This. Chicken. Was. So. Good.

022

For a do-over, I would not add additional salt. The parmesan was salty enough I think. And I might have been a little over-zealous with the amount of rosemary. 😀

014

TV Talk

As a result of the extreme generosity of my little Brother-In-Law, Jodus and I are going to be purchasing a pretty, new flatscreen TV after the move. I’ve done a bit of research on them but it is pretty overwhelming. Plasma or LCD? Have any personal opinions/experience on the matter?

023

5 Responses

  1. LOVE parmesan on chicken! I do that most of the time when I stick chicken tenders in the oven! Mmmmm

    As for a TV, I’d go with LCD.
    We have a 42″ 1080p Plasma (BEAUTIFUL picture) but the crispness of an LCD is much better. There isn’t much of a difference when they are smaller, but if you’re going BIG get an LCD. Oh, and a Blu-Ray …. trust me, it makes a huge movie experience difference. 🙂

  2. The walnut and rosemary chicken was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! Thanks for adding a little cheeeeeese to mine. You must really love me.

    I’d really like to have this chicken dish again. Maybe with your delicious roasted red potatoes next time? ….if the store has them that is.

    BTW, I think it’s really weird how we both conducted TV research on the same day without even coordinating the idea. Great minds think alike!

  3. yummo Leah…that looks so delish. As for TV – LCD….that is what we have and I absolutely LOVE It – very crisp pic – playing the wii on it is AMAZING!!!!!!

  4. We’ve been looking at TV’s too – I guess it depends if Jodus (or you) are gamers…apparently gaming is kind of a no no on a plasma…and if you can afford it, I would look into an LED. From what I understand, it’s basically a backlit LCD but I think the picture is so much better! B/c they’re relatively new, they’re also more expensive but I’ve still seen some pretty good deals on them.

    They’re also supposed to be somewhat better for the environment due to the lack of mercury in them, but that could just by hype.

    Good luck on the move!

  5. We have a plasma and love it, but honestly, LCD is half the price and you don’t have to worry about the picture “burn” onto the screen when you pause.

    I just picked up a 42″ Sanyo LCD from WalMart for $548 (a give-away prize at work), we paid $999 for the plasma 2 years ago….ain’t that the way…..

Leave a Reply

