Monday Funk

This morning, I had some serious Monday morning blues. I didn’t sleep well and my back was feeling a bit stiff. And it was a Monday morning. ‘Nuf said.

The leftover Summer Vegetable Frittata made an excellent breakfast though!

005

Topped with Greek Gods plain yogurt and a little sriracha for a morning pick-me-up.

004

And finally, now that we are nearing the end of July, I can finally have my first iced coffee of the year!

006

Coffee + soymilk + agave + ice

It still wasn’t particularly nice out this morning so I was a bit chilled to the bone after this but it was worth it. A cup of hot tea once I got to work did the trick to heat me back up.

Morning snack: Banana

Lunch was last night’s leftovers, minus the greens!

Bacon risotto + roasted chicken

001

I could eat risotto every day of my life, I think!

After work, I got right down to business in the kitchen, again!

012

Cooking Light‘s Eggplant, Zucchini & Tomato Tian

  • 1  pound  Japanese eggplant, cut diagonally into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • 1  pound  zucchini, cut diagonally into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • Cooking spray
  • 1  pound  large beefsteak heirloom tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • 1 1/2  tablespoons  extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt, divided
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper, divided
  • 4  ounces  French bread baguette 2 cups panko breadcrumbs
  • 1  cup  (4 ounces) grated fresh Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 2  tablespoons  chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 2  teaspoons  chopped fresh oregano
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  chopped fresh thyme
  • 2 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4  cup  fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 375°.

2. Arrange eggplant and zucchini in a single layer on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Lightly coat vegetables with cooking spray. Bake at 375° for 15 minutes. Arrange half of eggplant in a single layer in an 11 x 7-inch glass or ceramic baking dish coated with cooking spray. Top with half of zucchini and half of tomato. Drizzle 2 1/4 teaspoons oil evenly over vegetables. Sprinkle vegetables evenly with 1/8 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoon black pepper.

3. Place bread in a food processor; process until coarse crumbs measure 2 cups. Add cheese and next 4 ingredients (through garlic) to processor; process until combined. Sprinkle 1 1/2 cups breadcrumb mixture evenly over tomato. Repeat layers with remaining eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, oil, salt, pepper, and breadcrumb mixture. Pour broth over top. Bake at 375° for 1 hour or until vegetables are tender and topping is browned.

I had really  high hopes for this one; it got excellent reviews online.

010

I took a major short cut. I didn’t use a food processor at all and used panko breadcrumbs instead of using a baguette. So I just mixed, in a bowl, 2 cups of panko, grated parmesan (not fresh), and dried herbs. And I didn’t peel and seed the tomato. And I skipped the broth because I didn’t have any and decided the juices from the veggies would be enough.

014 015

I served it over some whole wheat pasta tossed in garlic, butter, salt, pepper, and parmesan.

013

Funnily enough, Kath had a very similar dinner tonight! hehe!

020

I thought it was ok. I’d give it a B. I feel like it was a heck of a lot of time and effort for the results. I didn’t like how everything was a little mushy – the tomato, the eggplant, the zucchini. Maybe thicker slices would have helped?

017

My favorite part was the crunchy top. The breading in between just turned to mush as well. I could have even omitted it and just piled it all on top and been happy!

009 018

I’m off to go be a bum for the rest of the evening.

(I’ve gotta snap out of my funk I’m in today. Blech.)

2 Responses

  1. Aw man! That looks really really good I’m surprised it wasn’t a stellar recipe. That frittata looks really delicious as well. I’m getting hungry now.

Leave a Reply

