Eat Pack Eat Pack Eat

The title says it all.

Breakfast: Cooking Light’s Summer Vegetable Frittata

006

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2  tablespoons  olive oil
  • 1  cup  diced zucchini  (2 small)
  • 1/2  cup  chopped red bell pepper (1/2 a large)
  • 1/3  cup  chopped onion (1/4th a Walla Walla Sweet)
  • 1  tablespoon  chopped fresh dried thyme
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt, divided
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper, divided
  • 2  garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2  cup  chopped seeded tomato (1 heirloom)
  • 9  large eggs (5 medium, 5 large)

Preparation

1. Heat olive oil in a 10-inch nonstick broiler-proof skillet over medium heat. Add zucchini, bell pepper, onion, thyme, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon black pepper, and garlic. Cover and cook 7 minutes or until vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally. Stir in tomato. Cook, uncovered, for 5 minutes or until liquid evaporates.

2. Combine eggs, remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt, and remaining 1/8 teaspoon black pepper in a medium bowl; stir with a whisk until frothy. Pour egg mixture into pan over vegetables, stirring gently. Cover, reduce heat, and cook 15 minutes or until almost set in the center.

3. Preheat broiler.

4. Broil frittata 3 minutes or until set. Invert onto a serving platter; cut into 8 wedges.

001 

The vegetables looked and smelled gorgeous.

008

The eggs puffed up beautifully.

013

This was a fantastic frittata! Best I’ve ever had!

014

I topped it with a little plain Greek Gods yogurt.

016 020

Yum!

A spot of coffee with soymilk + agave!

021

…Packing…

028 029

Lunch was a Vegetarian Times: Jewel Pancakes with a Yogurt Dill Sauce.

Yogurt-Dill Sauce

  • 6 oz. plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 2 Tbs. chopped fresh dill
  • 2 Tbs. lemon juice
  • 1 small clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Pancakes

  • 3 medium beets (1 lb.), trimmed and scrubbed
  • 2 medium carrots (6 oz.)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (2 tsp.)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 large egg plus 2 large egg whites, beaten 

1. To make Yogurt-Dill Sauce: Whisk together yogurt, dill, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and pepper in small bowl. Refrigerate until ready to use, up to 3 days. (I made it this morning while breakfast cooked!)

2. To make Pancakes: Preheat oven to 250°F. Coat baking sheet with cooking spray, and set aside. Shred beets and carrots in food processor fitted with grating blade, or grate with box grater. Place beet-carrot mixture in large bowl, and toss with garlic and salt. Add egg and egg whites, and mix well.

3. Lightly spray large nonstick skillet with cooking spray, and heat over medium-high heat. Drop 1/4 cup beet mixture into skillet, and flatten slightly to form 3-inch-diameter pancake. Repeat, forming 3 other pancakes in pan. Cook 4 minutes, or until undersides are golden brown. Flip pancakes, and cook 3 minutes more. Respray pan, and repeat process with remaining batter, keeping prepared pancakes warm in oven. Drizzle with Yogurt-Dill Sauce, and serve immediately.

This was an extraordinary amount of effort grating by hand. A food processor would have made this a cinch but ours is packed so I grated away!

027

I served them over a bed of Spring Mix.

022025

FYI – I adore Spring Mix but I always pick out these guys:

023

Gross and bitter! I think it is curly endive?

I really liked this lunch! It seemed nice and light but totally filled me up!

034 039

I had 3 “cakes”.

033

That didn’t stop me from going back for a little bit more though!

042

And unfortunately, it didn’t last long in my belly. A couple hours later I was munching on crackers + dip.

Dessert:

045

Yum!

We relaxed for a little bit eating lunch and watched an episode of The L Word before getting back to work.

030 032 047 046

HEY! Don’t judge! We can’t take nearly empty bottles of liquor! We had to polish them off! Amaretto for me, Crown for him.

Dinner was a nice hefty one to help us get through this week!

I roasted a whole bird, drizzled in EVOO and sprinkled with paprika, salt & pepper.

052 069

I made bacon risotto with onion, garlic, white wine, low sodium chicken stock, and butter. Oh, and bacon! 😀

071

I sautéed beet greens (saved from lunch!) in the bacon grease with a tiny dab of brown sugar and added some bacon crumbles.

051 055

Dinner was fantastic.

059064 063

*nom*nom*nom*

068

Night cap:

072073

Still working on that magnum of pinot grigio! (Thanks to Jodus’ sis for the glasses!)

And a movie to finish our weekend! I think we are about to pop in Legion.

We are feeling super accomplished and satisfied with our level of packing! Next weekend is hectic for us so we won’t have too much time to get stuff done so we really pounded it out this weekend! I’m glad we aren’t waiting until the last minute!

PS – we still haven’t officially signed our new lease yet and it is making me super nervous even though we have the property management’s word on it! That’s just the nervous Nellie in me though.

8 Responses

  1. Yum! Your meals make me jealous…I’ve been such a lazy eater (and blogger, etc) lately, but that’s ok. I like my simple meals. How do you make your risotto? I think Mitch would love it…I mean hello, it’s made with butter and bacon!

  2. Good luck with the move!!

  3. I don’t envy your packing! The roasted chicken looked perfect!!!!!

  4. Hey there, just wanted to let you know I did a tiny write up about your blog with a link back to you on my blog ;]

  5. […] Eat Pack Eat Pack Eat […]

  6. […] Garnish for vegetable frittata […]

Leave a Reply

