Another Countdown

It seems like for as long as I can remember, I have been counting down until something. The wedding was obviously a huge countdown. And before that, it was the move into our current townhouse.

Now, it is the countdown to moving, again. In exactly 2 weeks, we need to be out of our townhouse. 2 weeks is mighty fast. It is a little surreal actually.

With the move swiftly approaching, we vowed to take advantage of this area this weekend and hit our favorite restaurants. We got right to work today!

We woke up around 7, managed to crawl out of bed and be out the door by 9. We drove to Maltby Cafe – our favorite breakfast joint! It is a bit of a trek for us so we don’t make it there as often as we’d like. In fact, the last time we went was in October and was the day I found my wedding dress!

016

This place is so quaint! I love just pulling up!

001 002 003 004 010011 012

It is extremely popular…

014 013 033

And with good reason!

015 017

We had a little bit of a wait.

008

Today, we saddled up to the counter again for a quicker meal.

020

I adored our server today! I wish I had gotten her name. She was a sweetheart and snapped a picture of us!

048

I went with the special for the day for breakfast – Washington Chicken Scramble with potatoes and toast.

028 045

Jodus got the Roughneck with two eggs over medium and the toast.

040

We obviously weren’t hungry at all.

046 047

Afterwards, we walked around and scoped out the shops around the cafe and randomly heard on the radio in one of the shops that the Mill Creek Street Fair was going on! So we randomly went up to Mill Creek to check it out!

220 222

(That guy is awesome!)

It was pretty fun! There were a lot of booths.

052 055 211 204 208 209 210 213 212 225

The best part were the puppies! They had a set-up for trained dogs to play frisbee and do tricks! I had a blast watching them! It got me so excited to adopt Pippin!

059062074  077 093 094

Seriously! Look how high this dog is jumping!

099 108 115 122 170 186

Who knew dogs could fly?!

Loved it! 😀 I think I took 100+ pictures in a matter of 20 minutes? I was trying to get a good action shot and I think I done good!

After the dogs were done, we made our way down to Kirkland for another festival – Kirkland Uncorked!

228 232 236

Half of the festival was open to everyone, the other half was sectioned off and you had to pay – this was for wine tasting!

We walked around the open half first.

243 240 241

LOVED this artwork:

239

I adore the Kirkland waterfront! Kirkland is on the eastside of Lake Washington.

247 254 256

See Seattle?

264

Then we made our way into the 21+ part, tokens and commemorative glass in hand!

269

We walked around to scope out the situation before diving into the wine.

274 275 276 278 283 295 296

Unfortunately, we weren’t really impressed with any that we truly enjoyed. I doubt we would come back for this again. It was $20 each and you basically get 5 one-ounce pours and the glass, I guess.

But when we started eating the taste-plates at 2, things got much happier!

Salmon sliders from Anthony’s:

285 304

These were my favorite. (I had 2!)

BBQ Pork:

307 305

The flavor was good but I am sad they didn’t make sliders and just gave us a cup of meat.

A link w/ peppers and onion and a cookie from Maggiano’s:

311 316

So good! And a nice hefty portion!

Lamb & rice with lentils and Tzatziki from Padria:

310

Not a fan of that one so much…

Onion Cake from Sasi’s Cafe:

287 303

This was pretty good! Love the balsamic reduction drizzle!

Mahi Mahi Tacos:

318

I liked these! But no “WOW” factor.

I was pretty darn full after all that!

We sat by the water a bit before taking the scenic route home.

 320 321

When we got home, we worked on taking care of business – Jodus packed up the desk and a bunch of other crap and I posted a few things to Craigslist to sell (and started blogging!).

Dinner is brought to you by Cooking Light! I love it when I have a menu planned and do a good grocery trip! Wonderful dishes like tonight’s are the product!

365

I made Grilled Halibut with Peach and Pepper Salsa.

  • Salsa:
  • 2 1/2  cups  coarsely chopped peeled yellow peaches (about 1 1/4 pounds)
  • 1 1/3  cups  chopped red bell pepper (about 1 large)
  • 1/2  cup  thinly sliced green Walla Walla Sweet onions
  • 1/2  cup  chopped fresh arugula
  • 1/3  cup  fresh lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
  • 2  tablespoons  chopped fresh oregano
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1  habanero pepper, seeded and minced
  • 1  3 garlic clove, minced
  • Fish:
  • 2  tablespoons  fresh lemon juice
  • 2  tablespoons  olive oil
  • 1  teaspoon  paprika
  • 2  garlic cloves, minced
  • 6  (6-ounce) 2 8-ounce skinless halibut fillets
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • Cooking spray

366 

As you can see, I made a few changes. 😀 Halibut is expensive so I cut it down to 2 servings of fish but didn’t adjust other ingredients because I figured the extra salsa won’t hurt anything and extra marinade is just extra marinade!

The boy was in charge of the grilling.

I served it over a bed of zesty greens and an excess of salsa.

373

In my opinion, this was delicious. BUT halibut is a little spendy for our budget. This would be good on any mild white fish though! The halibut was a fabulous treat. It was melt-in-your mouth good! I can totally tell the difference between fresh wild caught fish and frozen farmed fish!

And there was more wine.

371

This is leftover from my bachelorette party!!

369

Thanks, Claudia! 😉

372

I’m off to relax! Tomorrow, we are determined to pound out a bunch of packing!

4 Responses

  1. What a fabulous day! You’re not probably would have been that “awesome” guy if he never met me….

  2. I LOVE the pictures of the doggies! AH! I can’t wait to see more pictures of your new family addition. 🙂

    I have chicken breasts with a mango salsa planned this week! Great minds think alike! I also got a bottle of Riesling 🙂 I am glad that Beringer is getting put to good use ❤

    Also, good on Jodus for being so efficient; I can't get James to get motivated to start packing.

  3. […] Another Countdown […]

  4. […] a problem. We’ve been playing pretty hard the last few months between the wedding and honeymoon, events, self inflicted happy hours and work happy hours, moving. Now it is time to work hard. We have a […]

Leave a Reply

