Weekend In Westport

I trust that everyone had a good 4th of July weekend! Ours was a whirlwind of family but we had a great time! We left home Saturday morning and headed to Westport.

Westport (MOM) 002

(Disclaimer – these pics are a mix of mine and my mom’s. I was trying to do manual settings all weekend it didn’t go necessarily well and I ended up with a ton of crap shots but oh well.)

On the road, we grabbed coffee and a scone.

001 005002 003004 

We ended up doing some grazing for lunch – salami, jerky, strawberries. We had to save room for the big crab fest for dinner!

Westport (MOM) 010

It was nice seeing everyone so soon after the wedding. Usually we go months or maybe even years without seeing each other – the curse of military families.

In exciting news, I got to meet my niece, Taylor, for the first time! She’s 5 months old now and they live in Florida.

Westport (MOM) 067 042

And of course, my favorite nephew was being his cute 3-year-old self!

And the teenagers were being teenagers.

Westport (MOM) 105 Westport (MOM) 123

Not too far after we arrived and were greeted by an ambush of family (we were the last of 16 to arrive!), we had family pictures done on Grandma & Grandpa HoHo’s property! Mom was ninja and took a bunch of pictures behind the photographer!

Westport (MOM) 153 Westport (MOM) 162 Westport (MOM) 179 Westport (MOM) 176Westport (MOM) 157Westport (MOM) 166  Westport (MOM) 196 Westport (MOM) 206 Westport (MOM) 220 Westport (MOM) 228

I can’t wait to see the pictures. It sure was great to get everyone together!

The dinner crab fest was pretty much exactly like last year just a few more bodies to feed!

DSC_0015163 

There was copious amounts of crab.

125

There was corn on the cob.

133 141

There was cole slaw.

162

There was garlic bread.

And there was a lot of extra crab. That we got “stuck” with shelling again! But this year, Geoff turned 20. So he got stuck with us. He’s no longer a teenager. Sorry, buddy! 😉

DSC_0032

We had a delicious meal. I pigged out.

After cleaning up, the evening was spent in an extremely competitive round of Settlers…

DSC_0058

… that I won! 😀

Sunday was the 4th, of course!

DSC_0069

We had a seafood filled breakfast – fried oyster omelets and crab-egg bake!

169

I loved the fried oysters and didn’t care for the crab and egg bake. I really liked it last year so I’m not sure what was different this year but oh well.

We all got ready and headed down to the museum to see the Color Guard.

191 193 199

Grandma is a volunteer for the museum and played a huge part in organizing the 4th of July festivities. She had a big crew of us to help out! Unfortunately, this year it was a nasty day and it put a damper on the fun meter.

217

But we still managed to have a good time. There was the silent auction (HEATED!) and the cake walk that were a hit. *ahem* We ended up with 4 cakes.

230 233 237 DSC_0132 DSC_0140

For lunch, Jodus and I ended up solo at a deli. There had been some miscommunication about lunch so we didn’t get there until well after 1 and were starving!

I ended up ordering us the Ragin’ Cajun and the Maui Pork to split.

261

We asked for wheat, no cheese. But an hour later, when we got our sandwiches, with cheese, I was far too hungry and annoyed about the wait to make a scene.

268

The sandwiches were good… I guess. But I don’t know if they were worth the price and wait.

After lunch, we headed back to the museum. The rain let up a little.

DSC_0191 274

Mullet alert!

270

(I’m bad, I know!)

289

Around 5, we started prepping everything for the volunteer dinner. Grandma spearheaded this project and did a great job!

DSC_0218 DSC_0219 DSC_0223  310

The eats:

300

Fried chicken, shrimp pasta, potato salad, chips and dips, some olives.

And the boy and I shared a side of beans.

301

Geoff looks so different with a beard! So mature! I love it! He didn’t have it a month ago at the wedding!

307

Trenton was passed out all through dinner.

311

And dessert was strawberry shortcake.

314

And a bunch of cake at home. And a few glasses of wine. 😀 I skipped playing Settlers again. I had to give someone else a shot at winning. 😉

013

This morning, we stole a couple of Grandma’s muffins and said good-bye! It was a quick trip. Mom and crew were already on the road to MT and the SLC crew and FL crew were staying a couple extra days. But work beckons.

We met up with my Aunt at a Denny’s half-way through our 3 hour drive for a real breakfast. I got the build-your-own grand slam – 2 eggs, wheat toast, bacon, and wheat pancakes.

015 016

I ate it all, except half a piece of toast that Jodus helped me polish off.

We hit the store on the way home and scored some lamb for dinner! (We just munched on hummus and crackers for “lunch”.)

017 018

To go with the lamb kebobs, we grilled up a couple zucchini, summer squash, and a few mushrooms.

027

Not bad if I do say so myself!

035

I didn’t eat all that lamb. Only 3 of the 5 pieces.

I’m off to enjoy the last couple hours of my 3-day weekend.

Happy Birthday, USA!

One Response

  1. […] Leftovers for Lunch for more pictures. July 7th, 2010 | Category: […]

Leave a Reply

