Homecoming

The boy came home today and forced me to crawl out of the rock I’ve been hiding under for most of the week!

260

In honor of it, I treated him to a special dinner!

I got organic, grass fed NY strip steaks for two.

227 228 229

I selected the smallest steaks they had available.

Don’t worry, I didn’t spoil him too much. I still made him man the grill!

253

We rubbed the steak in oil, salt and pepper before searing them on our (free) grill.

264

To go with the steak, I selected local cremini mushrooms and Walla Walla sweet onion sautéed with garlic in some butter.

232 275

Butter is key.

I also roasted organic red potatoes tossed in EVOO, topped with salt, pepper, and fresh local rosemary!

226 234 276

For some green, we grilled up organic asparagus.

231

I opted for USA over Mexico asparagus but I don’t think it is Washington asparagus, sadly. (Remember! I’m on a local kick! Thanks to Animal, Vegetable, Miracle!)

230 265 278

And for the boy, an IPA of his choice!

235 239

(Like our new magnetic bottle opener?!)

240 244

Usually, I don’t touch IPA’s but today, I decided I should have a little smidge of a taste. A large shot glass worked perfectly for my sample!

248 250

But I still didn’t like it.

252

Oh well. He loves me anyway. IPA’s are just too hoppy for me. I like pilsners, hefe’s, blonde’s and the occasional stout.

Dinner was fantabulous.

271

Obviously not something we eat very often which made it special.

283

It is so great to have my boy back! He already took out the very smelly garbage that had been accumulating since his departure. I’ve mentioned I’m a pig, right?

Unfortunately, we have to turn around and leave for the weekend tomorrow morning. So he’s unpacking, doing laundry, then repacking. We are heading to Westport to visit the family again! That’s what we did last year for the 4th of July but I don’t think it is going to turn into a new tradition. It’s a long trek for my sister and her family (SLC, UT) and my mom and co (GF, MT).

4th of July 2009 146

I’m excited to see everyone again, especially Grandma and Gramdpa HoHo – they couldn’t make it to the wedding. But I’ll be bringing the pictures! Yay!

Speaking of the wedding, I discovered this video testimony we did after our ceremony for our DJ.

Inebriated much?

2 Responses

  1. That asparagus looks fantastic!

  2. That video is priceless!

Leave a Reply

