Going Local

Today was glorious. Lazy. Quiet. I’m still in my pajamas. And I’m eating chocolate soy ice cream straight out of the carton as we speak. I’m loving it.

Breakfast was fantastic. I made french toast using local multigrain bread we bought at the Farmer’s Market yesterday and topped it with a Washington apple with some butter and cinnamon.

002 010

I’m trying to further my efforts on going local after reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. It was a fantastic read. I recommend it to anyone interested in local, organic eating.

At lunch, our multigrain loaf made another appearance!

013

Tuna melts with Snohomish County greenhouse tomatoes!

012

With a side of Yakima asparagus, lightly broiled with the melts.

014 017 015

I could have stopped with one of the melts. But I ate half of the second one as well. I am terrible with stopping eating. Terrible I tell you. That’s probably why I’ve put on 15 pounds the last 5 months, no thanks to Vegas buffets and all-inclusive resorts with 5 course meals every night. But whatever. You only get married once.

I spent the entire afternoon lining up wedding recap posts for the week! I’m excited!

Dinner was simmering on the stove all day. I made chicken soup using up the chicken carcass I roasted last week.

022023

I really like my chicken soup! It has a little bit of wild rice in it and lots of veggies and black pepper! Homemade broth helps a lot too! Jodus and I shared a bowl of crackers to go with.

020 024

Tonight, we watched Invictus and it was pretty good! I heart Morgan Freeman!

I’m sad my weekend is over. I’m more sad that the boy is leaving tomorrow for yet another work-trip. But we think this is the last one for awhile. Which is good because we have a lot going on right now. I was thinking things would calm down after the wedding but I was sorely mistaken. It’s all good things though!

Leave a Reply

