6 Days!

I’m totally watching Sex & The City, the movie right now! I can’t wait for the second one! I bought our tickets weeks ago for opening night! I’m an addict! I wish I had girlfriends around to have a little cosmo party then go to the movies with, but I guess the boy, a bottle of wine, and pre-Vegas jitters will have to do me.

😀

This morning, I ripped into a package of Bob’s Red Mill Muesli like a kid on Christmas morning!

004

I’ve forgotten how much I love muesli! The chewiness is to die for. I heart seeds. And dates.

This morning, I crumbled a muffin on top and it was perfection.

001

Thinking back, this held me over very well! More than regular oatmeal does! Must be the extra fiber, right? I had a couple cups of tea throughout the morning and was still fine until 12:30! That’s about 7 hours later! Can you believe it?!

One of my coworkers celebrated her birthday today so we went out to lunch!

We ended up at The Crab Pot! I’d actually never eaten there before, just gotten drinks.

I ordered a special – blackened salmon caesar wrap with a side of seafood chowder.

014

I was the only person to not get fish and chips! But after hearing Christina complain about a tummy ache after her fries and deep fried fish settled, I was glad with my choice. I only ate half the wrap.

For dinner, I needed to pack in some serious veggies. I’ve been slacking.

006

Nothing like a colorful stir-fry to load you up with veggies! I’ve also leaned that the secret to a good stir-fry is to not overcook the veggies. I think I was guilty of that the first 100 stir-fry’s I made.

007

I sautéed carrots, belle peppers, onion, mushrooms, and snap peas in peanut oil. Seasoned with soy sauce, ginger, garlic, and red pepper flakes.

Say hello to my best friend.

013

Mmmm, love me some sriracha!

012

True story. Last night, I was planning out what I was going to make for dinner tonight and the boy asked, “What about a protein source?” Isn’t he cute?

Reflecting on this, I can see how much  my mentality about nutrition has changed. I used to think I had to have a protein, starch, and veggie at every single meal. Chicken, rice, green beans. Salmon, quinoa, peas.

But I’ve started to let go of that. I am definitely consuming far less protein now than I used to. The best part about that is that it is cheaper! 😉 I’m not an elite athlete. I’m not even a wanna-be athlete. I haven’t been training. I don’t lift weights. I don’t have specific needs for a “high” protein diet. So why bother?

But I will admit, this was super carb heavy and I did get hungry later and munch on hummus and crackers. If I had added some coconut milk, I would have been fine. Or a peanut sauce. Or something. Tempeh would have been good too.

/ramblings

3 Responses

  1. I LOVE sriracha! Spicy is fantastic. But I never know what to put sriracha onto besides asian food…

  2. That stir fry looks divine! I have been planning on making some for a week now but haven’t gotten around to it yet!

Leave a Reply

