Riserva

As part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program, I received a coupon for Buitoni Riserva. I was pretty excited about this one because I love pasta!

Pretty much as soon as I got the coupon, I ran out to buy some! I was disappointed though. The coupon allowed for $5.69 and my store was selling them for $5.99. This package looks awfully small for $6. But I guess since I am only paying 30 cents, it’s all right, right?

009

I selected the Wild Mushroom Agnolotti.

008

I decided to prepare it with something light that wouldn’t overpower the Agnolotti.

So I sauteed onion, garlic, and spinach in a splash of white wine and some butter, added some fresh ground pepper, and some parmesan.

011

The overall flavor of the pasta was quite good. I liked that it wasn’t cheese filled.

010

But honestly, I really just can’t get over the servings size/price.

012

I guess $6 for two is “cheap” comparing it to going out to eat… but I feel like I can make equally delicious meals for cheaper, and just as easily.

013

I just don’t see us splurging on these again. The boy concurred.

022

4 Responses

  1. That’s disappointing. Try getting the Costco version. Tasty and worth it!

  2. That’s too bad, I always thought they were overpriced also. That’s why I stick with the dried or frozen pasta.

  3. Overpriced pasta is overrated.
    For $6, I’d rather spend another $14-$20, get a bigger portion (leftovers for lunch? ;D ), have someone cook, clean and serve it for us at a restaurant.

  4. I splurge on these cause they are fan-tabulous! I really like the Agnolotti with a splash of olive oil, salt and pepper. But, yeah… $6 is little expensive. I only buy these when Matts out cause he won’t eat them. Also…LOVE their tortellini.

Leave a Reply

