9 Months

We have been engaged for 9 months.

I understand why pregnant women are just ready to pop the damn thing out at 9 months.

I am so done with wedding planning. I am tired of being consumer by it. I’m tired of having a lingering to-do list (which I made a healthy dent in this weekend, btw.). I honestly can not imagine how people have longer engagements. If it were solely up to me, I would have been married in under two months.

I’m pretty much on my last nerve. I’m on my last nerve with details. I’m on my last nerve with RSVPs. I’m on my last nerve with people asking me “How many days?” and having to know (which I always do) and having to smile and be chipper instead of strangling them like I generally want to.

I’m so consumed by wedding shizz that I have forgotten about our actual relationship.

Today, two years ago, we had our first real date.

Yes, I basically forgot our anniversary. Good thing we won’t be celebrating this one again. The new date to engrain in my brain is MAY 30th, 2010. At least it’s 2010. It’s a nice round number. Won’t have to do much math to figure out how many years it’s been since we haven’t’ killed each other.

We did celebrate though.

Lunchtime rolled around and I found myself eating kettle corn and sour gummi worms. It was just one of those days. I heard the boy at work in the kitchen, obviously disregarding my hollering that there were leftovers to be had. I moseyed in to see what he was doing.

017

He put together quite a spread (with a little assistance). Crackers, cheese, and mustard and pineapple jalapeno jelly, both courtesy of my Kansas City blog-bride-friend.

019018

And there was champagne. My favorite. Yes, at 2pm.

020016

And it was fabulous. We paired it with Scrabble and Al Pacino.

021 022

I did manage to get in the kitchen for dinner. We had a repeat – so rare in this household!

023

Asian Sheppard’s Pie (last time)

026

It’s a sloppy delicious mess. Wasabi mashed potatoes, green beans, corn, lima beans, carrots, ground turkey with onion, garlic, brown sugar, ponzo, ginger.

027

I topped our dishes with sriracha!

032

And this is how I show my lurve:

031

And yes, that amount of sriracha nearly killed him. 😀

4 Responses

  1. I don’t get how people can have long engagements either. I’d want a short engagement too!

  2. Okay, so I am all caught up on your blog with two new recipes bookmarked and no kitchen to make them in yet. I can’t wait!

    Y’all are too cute. Did you end up kicking the boy’s butt at Scrabble?

  3. Happy First-Date Anniversary!

    I am definitely planning on having a short engagement whenever the time comes for me. I don’t want to deal with wedding planning for more than a year.

  4. Yeah, I don’t like long engagements either. Plan the wedding and be done with it. Good luck on making it through this month…I’m sure it will go by fast, and then you’ll be married 🙂

Leave a Reply

