Splendid Sunday

I love Sundays. Really. Truly.

The boy made me a perfect breakfast.

025 026 028

For lunch, we had leftover potato and leek soup.

029

Then we went out for a walk along the waterfront.

036 037

I caught some ladybugs being not very lady-like.

032

teehee… Yeah, I’m mature.

We got some ice cream from a little eatery by the marina.

038

There is never a bad time for ice cream!

039

We moseyed home and chillaxed a bit.

Dinner, my love affair with risotto continued.

048

Tonight, I made Cooking Light’s Lemon Risotto with Peas, Tarragon & Leeks.

Ingredients

  • 1  cup  fresh green peas
  • 4  cups Homemade Chicken Stock
  • 2  tablespoons  extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2  3 cups  finely chopped leek (about 2)
  • 1/2  cup  chopped shallots
  • 1  cup  uncooked Carnaroli or Arborio rice or other medium-grain rice
  • 3  tablespoons  dry white wine
  • 1/2  cup  (2 ounces) grated fresh Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 1  teaspoon  grated lemon rind
  • 2  tablespoons  fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 2  tablespoons  chopped fresh tarragon
  • 1  tablespoon  butter

Preparation

1. Bring a small saucepan of water to a boil. Add peas; boil 1 minute. Drain and rinse with cold water; drain well. Bring Homemade Chicken Stock to a simmer in a small saucepan (do not boil). Keep warm over low heat.

2. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add leek and shallots to pan; cook 7 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently. Add rice; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add wine; cook 30 seconds or until the liquid is nearly absorbed, stirring constantly. Stir in 1 cup stock; cook 4 minutes or until the liquid is nearly absorbed, stirring constantly. Add remaining stock, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring constantly until each portion of stock is absorbed before adding the next (about 25 minutes total). Stir in peas; cook 1 minute. Stir in cheese, rind, juice, salt, and pepper. Remove from heat; stir in tarragon and butter.

049 054 

I love all things lemon so I thought this would be a real winner. Well, it wasn’t. I need to remember to stop using tarragon. I really don’t like it. It smells like licorice. Blech. This could have been a million times better if I had just used a different fresh herb. And added more pepper. This might have been one of the weakest risottos I’ve had but I love the lemon factor. I’m still on my risotto kick!

053

To go with, we roasted a sweet potato and some broccoli.

050 051

I adore roasted broccoli! Mental note to roast it more often!

052

3 Responses

  1. Sorry your risotto was as good as you hoped. Use Thyme instead, it has a light lemon flavor, more lemon = more yummy!

  2. Waffle cones!! I don’t like ice cream all that much, so I’ll often go to ice cream places and ask for just a waffle cone 😉

    I just bought a head of broccoli that is destined for the oven 🙂

Leave a Reply

