Sour Cream Epiphany

My obsession with sour cream has been stated many times. I love it on my eggs, salads, pretty much anything it seems ok to be on.

When my kid brother was a toddler, he used to eat butter straight. You’d see little toddler finger holes in the butter tubs.

I’m like that with sour cream.

It has to be real sour cream. None of that nonfat or reduced fat crap.

It can be generic, that’s ok. But Tillamook is the best.

Pretty much the best substitution ever happened tonight.

I found a great recipe in Eating Well – it’s swiftly becoming my favorite food magazine. (Sorry, Cooking Light!) The recipe called for some plain yogurt. It’s not something I typically have on hand and somehow, it didn’t find it’s way on to the shopping list when I did my meal planning this week. Oops. So genius me, I decided to substitute sour cream.

Sour cream is like plain greek yogurt sorta, so it’s close enough, right?

Best. Thing. Ever.

I need to find/create more sour cream based sauces. My go-to is usually stroganoff which I love love love and don’t eat regularly because I have a beef with beef but that’s another post.

Creamy Garlic Pasta with Shrimp & Vegetables

023

  • 6 8 ounces whole-wheat spaghetti
  • 12 ounces peeled and deveined raw shrimp cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 bunch asparagus, trimmed and thinly sliced
  • 1 large red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen peas
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 cups nonfat or low-fat plain yogurt sour cream
  • 1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup toasted pine nuts (see Tip; optional) almond slices
    1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add spaghetti and cook 2 minutes less than package directions. Add shrimp, asparagus, bell pepper and peas and cook until the pasta is tender and the shrimp are cooked, 2 to 4 minutes more. Drain well. Place back in pot (off heat)with shrimp to warm.
    2. Mash garlic and salt in a large bowl until a paste forms. Whisk in yogurt, parsley, lemon juice, oil and pepper and garlic and salt. Add the pasta mixture and toss to coat. Serve sprinkled with pine nuts (if using) almond slices.

This was delicious.

024

I could have done with a bit more black pepper but using fresh ground would have been better. Pine nuts would have been better too but I didn’t have any.

026

I love that this was basically a one pot dish. That is a total winner. And it makes the boy happy!

027

I actually went back for seconds tonight. I rarely do that.

028

I must find more sour cream recipes. Anyone have any recommendations?

Mmm… White Enchiladas maybe? Mom? I need the recipe.

9 Responses

  1. looks de-licious! Have to def try this one!

  2. You should find a stroganoff recipe. It uses mostly sour cream! I used to have one for the crockpot but can’t find it. Boo.

  3. I’m such a freak… I don’t really like sour cream. Crazy, I know.

  4. I don’t have any recipes per say, but I had the exact same experience as you! I could literally eat sour cream on anything, and never thought I’d find a good substitution until I tried plain greek yogurt. DELICIOUS!!! I especially love it on omelets!

  5. LOVE sour cream……I have a taco dip I can send u.

  6. I thought this dish turned out really well. The sour cream was good, so were the garlic and veggies. But I think my favorite part was the minimal amount of dishes I had to clean up afterwards. 🙂

  7. I LOVE sour cream. Nachos = a vehicle for heaps of sour cream to find their way to my mouth.

  8. Cabot sour cream has long been my favorite (it’s unlike any other kind…yum) but I’m becoming obsessed with Tillamook – I will have to try this! Thanks!

  9. […] Sour Cream Epiphany […]

Leave a Reply

