Bacon and Mushroom Risotto

Folks, we have a winner here!

When I got my latest edition of Cooking Light, I just about died and went to heaven when I saw the special section of risotto recipes. I love love love risottos. They are easy… just time consuming. And worth every single stir.

Tonight, I tried out the Bacon and Wild Mushroom Risotto with Baby Spinach. With modifications, naturally.

102

4 cups chicken stock
6 bacon slices, chopped
1 cup chopped shallots
1 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
1 tsp. chopped fresh thyme
4 garlic cloves, minced
4 8 ounces of cremini mushrooms (baby portabellas), sliced
4 ounces shiitake mushrooms, stemmed and sliced
4 ounces oyster mushrooms, sliced plain white mushrooms
1 cup uncooked Arborio rice
1/3 cup Madeira wine (or dry sherry) port
4 cups baby spinach
1/2 cup (2 oz.) grated fresh Asiago shredded parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
(forgot these! oops!)

1. Bring the chicken stock to a simmer in a small saucepan and keep it warm without letting it boil.
2. Heat a large Dutch oven over medium heat. Add the bacon, and cook it 8 minutes until crisp, stirring occasionally. Remove the bacon from the pan with a slotted spoon. Add the shallots, oil, thyme, and garlic to the bacon drippings and cook for 6 minutes until shallots are tender. Stir in mushrooms, cook for 8 minutes. Then add the rice and cook for one minute.
3. Add the wine, and let it cook off, which should take about a minute. Then start with one cup of broth, letting the rice absorb it completely (about 4 minutes) before adding more, 1/2 a cup at a time. Stir it constantly the whole time. This whole process may take about 25 minutes total.
4. Stir in the spinach and cook for a minute until it wilts. Remove the pot from the heat and add in the cheese, salt, and pepper. Spoon it into bowls and top with the bacon!

094 

My word – this was fantastic. But then, I think anything cooked in bacon grease is.

093

I paired it with sautéed zucchini in olive oil, salt, pepper, and fresh rosemary.

095

Heaven.

100

Bliss.

101

Delicious.

096

6 Responses

  1. That looks really good…I kinda messed up risotto from a box once, so I’ve been afraid to try it again. But hey, throw some bacon on there and you really cannot go wrong.

  2. I’m with you on the bacon thing……it can make anything GOOD!

  3. I’ve never had risotto.. I think I’ll have to try it!

  4. This risotto was so freakin’ good!! I would LOVE to have it again.

  5. […] Bacon & Mushroom Risotto (the best!) […]

  6. […] Bacon and Mushroom Risotto, not as good as last time though due to some substitutions based on what we had. But still delicious! […]

Leave a Reply

