Almost Vegan Sloppy Joes

So I’ve made tempeh Sloppy Joe’s before.

 002

I was craving them this week. I actually wanted to make them for Christina on Tuesday but she turned up her nose to them.

So I made them for the boy last night cuz I knew he liked ‘em!

  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 a large onion, minced
  • 2 (8 ounce) packages tempeh
  • 1 minced green bell pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can tomato sauce (15 oz I think?)
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce (This is the almost vegan part. My Worcestershire has anchovies in it, but you can buy a vegan kind!)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon blackstrap molasses
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 pinch ground black pepper
  • hamburger buns
Directions
  1. Heat oil in a deep, 10-inch skillet over medium-low heat. Cook the onion in the oil until translucent. Crumble the tempeh into the skillet; cook and stir until golden brown. Add the green pepper and garlic; cook another 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in the tomato sauce, Worcestershire sauce, honey, molasses, cayenne pepper, celery seed, cumin, salt, coriander, thyme, oregano, paprika, and black pepper; stir. Simmer another 10 to 15 minutes. Spoon hot onto hamburger buns to serve.

They are delicious, I tell you.

008

I made some kale chips on the side to go with.

004

*nom*nom*nom*

Please try this recipe. It’s fantastic.

4 Responses

  1. These look AMAZING!!!! I wish my tummy could handle tempeh. I wonder what I could use in replacement?

  2. […] Almost Vegan Sloppy Joes – Leftovers For Lunch […]

  3. […] Sloppy Joe’s (I’ve made before here and […]

Leave a Reply

