Weekend At Grandma’s

Friday afternoon, Jodus and I headed down to Olympia to spend the weekend with my grandparents! Copious amounts of wonderful food was involved, naturally!

Friday night dinner was a polenta and bean Mexican style casserole.

002 004 005 008

With a simple salad on the side.

009

And some bubbly! We heart the bubbly!

006 007

Kitty photo shoot!

013 016 023 024 070 044

Makes me want kitties. Especially brother kitties!

Saturday morning, we did an oatmeal bar! I made whipped banana oats and we had an array of toppings to choose from.

072 074 075

Brown sugar

076

Apples

077

Craisens

078

Chopped Pecans

079

[unpictured coconut shreds and cardamom]

Boy bowl:

080 081 082 083

Girl bowl:

084 085 086 087 088

We needed to fuel up for a morning filled with yard work!

091

My dad came down to help too.

092093

We ended up getting the rig unstuck, laying out a ton of gravel, hauling debris to the dump. The boys did most of the work but I did my fair share of stuff and am feeling rather sore today! Hurt so good!

090 097 098

We had some cute onlookers.

096

Lunch was another bar-style meal. Mexican style toppings for either salad or baked potato.

Brown rice chips

100 

Salsa

101 

Cilantro

102 

Greek yogurt

103 

Black olives

104 

Shredded cheese

105 

Black beans

106 

Green onions

107 

Ground turkey with taco seasoning

108 099

I decided to load up a salad and do a simpler potato. And I also had a broiled portabella. 

115 118 117  119 116

And of course there was dessert.

111 112 113 114

I had 1 cookie, 1 cupcake and 2 brownies. Oh yes I did.

After lunch, we chilled a bit then the boys finished up yard work while we cleaned up the kitchen and started prepping dinner! (We also did a beer run for the boys!) (And we may have also downed an entire 5th of rum on hot butter rums! Oops!)

Hor d’ourves for dinner were tapenade with whole wheat crackers and these almond stuffed honey and wine cooked dates with pepper that were kinda weird and really too sweet.

121 122

Dinner was an array of goodies!

123

Wild rice

125

Roasted green beans

126

Crab and shrimp for the salad

127

A corn “salsa” of sorts for the salad

128

Greens

124

Spicy chickpeas

129

Then the girls had another portabella while the boys ate steak.

130

My plate of goodies.

132

And the salad.

133

With a splash of my dad’s white merlot. (I didn’t care for it.)

134

We spent the rest of the evening playing our favorite game: Settlers of Catan with kitties nibbling at our feet!

138 140

There is always dessert in my family!

144

Chocolate mousse with oreo crust! Oh yeah!

I think we all passed out hard after our hard work today! But it was great to spend time with everyone. My grandparents are moving to Maryland at the end of the month. Sadness! But we have a couple more hot dates planned for April before we see them off and then of course, we will see them again at the wedding!

We had a nice Easter breakfast this morning!

146 

I wonder if they are related? lol

153

My Grandma made this egg bake thing that had cheese and Canadian bacon and egg over toast.

148

And fruit salad!

149

And bacon!

151

There may have also been mimosa’s involved!

152

And dessert!

147

Who says you can’t have dessert after breakfast?!

We relaxed for a bit then hit the road home. It’s about an hour and a half with no traffic but of course we seem to always go on prime weekends where there is always traffic. Blech. Not for too much longer. 😦

In other Easter news, I am baking my first ham ever as we speak! 😀

(And not-so-secretly wishing we had dyed a bunch of eggs!)

2 Responses

  1. your food this weekend looks amazing! My family also loves dessert so we have it after every meal. love that.

  2. yum…love the idea of an oatmeal bar! those portabellos look amazing! sounds like you had a great easter 🙂

Leave a Reply

