Champagne Sunday

I felt a bit bad about how short yesterday felt with getting up at 10:30 so we made sure to set the alarm this morning! 8:00 + a few snoozes and a shower meant we were downstairs around 9! It was nice to have some leisure time before work!

Breakfast was a quick and easy with the sole purpose of using up the last of our spinach that was about it turn.

That means only one thing: Green Monster!

003

For the two of us, I used a couple cups of spinach, lots of cocoa powder, 5 ice cubes, soymilk, and 2 small naners.

To go with, we had pumpkin butter toast.

004

And 2 HB eggs – cooked to perfection!

005

I also indulged in some green tea in our new mugs!

002 001

Again today, I worked the wonky 12-4 shift that totally screws with my eating schedule. Around 2:30, I ended up scarfing down the clif bar that I had brought with me.

029

I ended up getting out around 3:40 instead of 4 (glorious!) and was greeted by a fantastically clean house when I came home! The boy went on a run and cleaned the whole place! How productive and amazing!

By 5, we were both starving from a lack of a real lunch. (The boy ate a Clif bar, a can of tuna, and a banana for lunch after his run!)

I asked Jodus if he would be able to help with dinner, he said, “Sure, as long as you pour us a couple glasses of wine.”

We decided sparkling wine was in order!

034

It is Sunday, after all! Why not celebrate?! 😉

Barefoot Bubbly Pinot Grigio is our go-to champagne. It is inexpensive and tastes delicious! I think we pay ~$10? But we usually buy it on sale so it is typically less.

039

Naturally, we are in the works of polishing off the bubbly. 😀

Dinner was delicious tonight! Paired well with champagne. 😉

056

(Love the new plates!)

For the salmon, I used a recipe from an ad in Cooking Light, again.

Fast & Easy Cioppino-Style Norwegian Salmon

059

Ingredients:

  • (43) 5-6 oz Norwegian Salmon fillets, skin removed
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • (2) each garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1 cup white onions, chopped
  • 2 cups tomatoes, chopped
  • ½ cup parsley, chopped
  • ½ tsp red pepper, crushed
  • 1/2 cup clam juice

Directions:

  1. Preheat large skillet, add olive oil and swirl to coat bottom of pan
  2. Add garlic and cook approximately 2 minutes, or until slightly brown
  3. Add onions and cook for 2 minutes
  4. Add remaining ingredients, except salmon, and simmer on low for 5 minutes
  5. Place Norwegian Salmon fillets on top of tomato mixture and cover with lid
  6. Cook for 6 minutes or until salmon is cooked through to center

051 

So it didn’t come out looking exactly like the picture in the magazine… but the taste was light and fresh!

To go with, I made steamed broccoli.

052

And mashed potatoes.

050

My mashed potatoes are phenomenal if I don’t so say myself! I use a lethal combo of ingredients that my mother taught me. Butter. Heavy Cream. Sour Cream. Salt. Pepper. Garlic Powder. Soymilk.

Ok, ok, she didn’t teach me the soymilk part. But it’s the only milk I keep on hand.

049 

Oops! Forgot my parsley!

057 056

These plates make my food so photogenic! (The natural sunlight helps, too!)

I can’t be trusted with potatoes.

058

They are just so damn good.

I’m obviously on a massive potato kick.

Obviously.

The nice thing about eating Early Bird Special style is that it is 6:30 and I am done eating. Done cleaning up. And done blogging. The boy and I will probably watch a movie. Chillax. There may be chocolate involved. But there always is.

Much love.

-L4L-

Leave a Reply

