I’m An Egg Lover

Yesterday, in the mail, we got our Thank You notes!

034

I ordered them off Etsy. (Whoever recommended Etsy to me, thank you! You are a life saver!)

036

I love these Thank You notes because the are simple, were inexpensive, stuck with our pink/brown theme, and I liked the birds! 😀 I can’t wait to use them!

(Official guest count is at 16!)

Breakfast

Eggs! I love eggs! I never grow tired of eggs!

032

My usual cilantro, sour cream, hot sauce, and some cheese.

028

With a soysage today!

031

And I did have tea this morning! The cup was just camera shy.

033

When I got to work, Christina gave me a chocolate!

037

It was left over from a wine party event that she helped with last night. Sadly, I was unable to attend because of work. Poop.

I also had another cup of tea at work in an attempt to ward off hunger!

038 039

Lunch

Lunch was ORANGE today!

Leftover sundried tomato risotto:

042 044

And cuties!

046

I gave one half of one to Christina and happily chomped away on the others!

Dinner

Tonight’s meal came from Eating Well magazine – Italian Egg Drop Soup.

068

You know me and my eggs! I couldn’t resist this recipe!

(And I didn’t take a single picture of the process, I apologize. I was flying totally solo and rushed today!)

Ingredients
  • 6 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth  I was out of broth and bouillon so I did 1 tsp of beef bouillon and added spices to make up for it.
  • 2 8 cups water
  • 1 1/3 cups whole-wheat medium pasta shells or other small pasta (4 ounces) (elbows)
  • 1 7-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed (I think mine was bigger? Whatever the standard can size is.)
  • 1 bunch scallions, sliced, whites and greens divided (Only had 3 green onions to work with.)
  • Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 3 cups chopped arugula, any tough stems removed
  • 4 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • Freshly ground pepper to taste (lots)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 6 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Preparation
  1. Combine broth, water, pasta, chickpeas, scallion whites and nutmeg in a Dutch oven; cover and bring to a boil over high heat. Uncover and boil for half as long as directed by the pasta package, 3 to 5 minutes.
  2. Stir in arugula and cook until wilted, about 1 minute. Reduce heat to low. While stirring the soup constantly, slowly add eggs; cook for 2 minutes. (The cooked egg will look like feathery strands.) Season with pepper and stir in the scallion greens and lemon juice. Ladle into 6 bowls and top with Parmesan.

It wasn’t half bad! It wasn’t very eggy though. And using broth would have made it better I think. Oh well. You work with what you got!

069 070 071

After dinner, the boy and I went to Costco and QFC for our weekly grocery trip. We usually go on Friday night but we have a hot date planned for tomorrow and I am working all day Saturday and have to cook up a storm on Sunday to prepare for my hellish week next week.

I did get myself a treat at the store!

072

Egg shaped chocolate is so fun to eat!

Now I’m sipping tea and headed to bed soon! I’m hopping lights out by 9pm!

-L4L-

One Response

  1. I’m an egg lover too!!! But you already knew that. Both breakfast and dinner were absolutely delicious! I had never had Italian Egg Drop soup before and was quite impressed. I’d love to have it again some time.

Leave a Reply

