Warmth On The Horizon

One of the things I dislike about my beautiful Pacific Northwest is how incredibly short and dark and gloomy the days are this far up north. We got no snow this year to brighten things up – just clouds and sprinkles which lead to a long, very drab winter. Most of us northwesterners are substantially lacking in Vitamin D, often year round but considerably so in the doom and gloom of winter.

We are finally getting to the point where it is light when I drive to work and remains light out for awhile after I get home. The cherry blossoms have bloomed which line many streets that I frequent and never fail to bring a smile to my face. Soon, I’ll be trading in my hot tea and cocoa for iced drinks. Oh, summer, please hurry and arrive! It is the best time of year, here in Washington!

Things I am looking forward to with warmer weather:

  • Burgers and grilled veggies
  • Mint Mocktails
  • Sitting on the deck
  • Walks outdoors
  • Reading a book on a blanket at the park
  • Longer days
  • Leaving the door and windows open
  • First sunburn of the season (Hurt so good!)
  • Wearing hippie skirts and flip flops

What is your favorite thing that comes with warmer weather?

Breakfast

I managed to sleep in until 6am this morning! Wowsers! It was fantastic!

Part of the reason I got to get some extra slumber was due to the fact that we had leftover waffles to just reheat for breakfast!

I covered mine in some butter and pumpkin butter!

002

With a cup of coffee + soymilk.

001

Recently, we made the switch from Vanilla soymilk to regular soymilk. Honestly, I can’t even really tell the difference! The boy was really concerned at first but we talked through it and he’s okay with the original now too! I mostly use soymilk in my coffee, for making oatmeal, and using in some recipes. The vanilla was always covered up by other delicious flavors anyway!

Anywho, at work, I had a cup of tea.

003 004

Christina gave me this bag of Tazo Orange Blossom. I liked it but it’s still not as good as my Mighty Leaf!

Morning snack:

007

😀

Lunch

I was looking forward to lunch all day today! I packed myself last night’s leftover soup!

008 009 010

Please! Go make this soup! Right now! It’s super fantastic! (I also have this huge urge to start using my immersion blender obsessively! Why did it take me so long to try it out?! It’s been in my cupboard for months!)

Dessert was a piece of chocolate!

011

Dinner

Tonight, we did something we haven’t done in quite awhile! We ate dinner at Costco!

I love love love their cheap-o hotdogs, smothered in onion and mustard!

012

Jodus usually gets a slice of pizza.

013

Tonight, he got two. And I stole a few bites.

014

And we split a Minute Maid Lemonade.

016 015 017

And of course we try to snag as many samples as possible while in the store. 😉

020 021 022 023

Last night, after the movie and before bed, we sat down and went through more recipes I had pulled out of magazines that I want to try. We figured out our meal plan, made our shopping list, and followed it to a "T" tonight.

I am finding that we are spending quite a bit less on groceries overall when I use this method of meal planning/cooking. And we waste much less.

But I think the next week, I am going to do it different and take a look at our fridge and pantry and try to make meals that revolve around food that I want to use up (like half a bottle of clam juice, israeli couscous, a can of coconut milk, half a box of lasagna noodles, the last of our venison from our Montana trip, half a block of feta, etc.). We’ll see how that goes!

-L4L-

5 Responses

  1. I love your Boston hat! Since Sacramento has like 8 months of summer, and like 4 months of spring/autumn, I share your disappointment with winter’s over-all wussiness on the west coast.
    I love unpacking sandals, sundresses and my sunscreen (us Gingers can’t go anywhere without it!), iced green tea, new workout shorts and planning my summer holiday (this year it’s Ireland!).
    where are you and Jodus going for your honeymoon?

    • I’m soooooooooooo jealous you’re going to Ireland! I’m sure you’ll have the time of your life.

      Our honeymoon is not completely planned as of yet (I’ve been tasked with that). Probably somewhere in Mexico though.

  2. Washington summers are the best! Although I grew up in the Wenatchee heat – it’s a lot milder in Seattle but equally as nice!

  3. Uggggh, the Boston hats ;), L4LBro loves it though. I think summer’s in Washington are so great because people in Washington really appreciate them!

  4. I’m really glad you got the chance to sleep in yesterday (i’m a little jealous though). The leftover waffles sure made things easy for me too. I probably wouldn’t have had much of a breakfast otherwise.

    Dinner at Costco was cheap and easy. It’s been quite awhile since we’ve done that. I shouldn’t have had two slices of pizza though. It was a little too much.

Leave a Reply

