Cook Me!

I was having all sorts of weird crazy dreams last night so I was excited to wake up! There were bits about a local radio guy whose show I listen to every morning, aspects of India, grocery stores with broken refrigerator sections, and parts of my college campus! Dreams are sooooo weird! Kind of fascinating though!

Breakfast

We had a sort of classic breakfast this morning. I was feeling the need for EGGS. I think hands down, my fav way to eat eggs is fried. Mmmm. My mouth is watering just thinking about a fried egg!

007

1 piece of Dave’s Killer Bread with Smart Balance Butter, 2 Morningstar soysauges, and 2 fried eggs sprinkled in Goya Adobo seasoning.

005

This is pretty much the most perfect breakfast ever. Nice and well balanced! Fat, protein, carbs!

002 003 004

Oh, and caffeine too!

001

I had a late morning snack of half a serving of crack Jalapeno Almonds.

008

Lunch

I could not heat up my soup fast enough today!

010

I was hangry! Maybe because it was a little quiet on the work front today.

009

Anyway, the leftover potato leek soup sufficiently filled the void.

011

Or not. 😀 I am still working on this huge chocolate bar (that resembles a Toblerone) that one of the guys in the office gave me for Christmas! I’m surprised it has lasted me this long! And I’ve even pawned off a couple of hunks! Only a few more to go. I’ll sort of be glad to see it gone.

I had an afternoon snack of a couple of Cuties!

014

I spy a turtle?

015

Isn’t that thing darling? It’s the fanciest balloon animal I’ve ever seen!

018

Christina gave it to me. She got it from her roommate or something? Not sure exactly.

019

She also got a ladybug one. Obviously she isn’t aware of my obsession with ladybugs.

Hehe… ok. It brightened up my day! Not that it wasn’t bright to begin with. I mean, it is almost Friday afterall!

Dinner

After work, I thought about going to the gym. I really did. But I made a deal with the devil boy to work on some personal things that have been needing to get done for awhile. He has seriously been nagging me about it for months. I needed a swift kick in the butt (that he delivered to me today) to get the job done. But instead, I got distracted. And didn’t get it done. BUT I will.

Pre-dinner munchy: Tamari Cashews

022

Tonight’s dinner came from Vegetarian Times. It was elected “Best Soup” in one feature and sounded fantastic so I thought I’d give it a shot!

Spicy Sun-Dried Tomato Soup with White Beans & Swiss Chard

  • 2 Tbs. olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced (1 2 Tbs.)
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1 medium 1/2 large onion, chopped (1 1/2 cups)
  • 2 medium carrots, sliced (1 cup)
  • 2 ribs celery, chopped (1/2 cup)
  • 1 small zucchini, sliced (1 cup)
  • 1/2 tsp. chopped fresh rosemary
  • 2 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 2 15-oz. cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 15-oz. can small white beans or cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 cup oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, drained and chopped, plus 2 Tbs. oil from jar
  • 1/2 bunch (6 oz.) Swiss chard, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. chopped fresh thyme
  • 1/2 cup torn fresh basil
  • 1. Heat oil in large saucepan over medium heat. Add garlic and red pepper flakes, and cook 1 minute, or until garlic is fragrant. Stir in onion, carrots, celery, zucchini, and rosemary, and cook 10 to 15 minutes, or until onions are soft.

    026 027 028 029 030 031 032 033 034 035 036 037 038

    2. Add broth, 1 can tomatoes, and beans. Scoop 1 cup mixture into food processor or blender, and add remaining can of tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes, and sun-dried tomato oil. Purée until smooth, stir mixture into soup, and season with salt and pepper, if desired. Use really awesome immersion blender to blend to desired consistency with minimal clean-up! Simmer 10 minutes.

    040 041 042 043 044045 047 048 049

    3. Add Swiss chard and thyme; simmer 5 minutes more, or until chard is wilted. Remove pan from heat, and stir in basil.

    050 051 052

    Apparently, we are giant pigs because we only got 4 servings out of this when it said it makes 8. But to be fair, maybe if I had a hunk of bread with it, I would have been fine with a smaller portion.

    054 055

    This soup was pretty darn good.

    056 057

    I loved the fresh basil torn in. It had good amount of spice. The sun dried tomatoes gave it a nice tang. I am very happy and implore you to go out and make this yourself!

    In other news, we received our first RSVP today!

    021

    Unfortunately, it was a “no” but we were already aware of it and we expect to get a lot of declines just because of the travel costs and things for the wedding. Which, to be honest, is perfectly fine with us because we could easily have 150+ people if everyone RSVPed yes but we are only planning on ~50. Maybe. We’ll see.

    This evening, we watched a flick I’ve been meaning to see.

    058

    Yep, Twilight! I haven’t read the books or seen the movies at all. All I really know about them is from blurbs from other blogs and mostly Perez.

    It was vaguely entertaining.

    The make-up was awful, the acting was meh, but it took place here in Washington so it gets some points there. I am a bit anxious to see the next one. I hear it is a lot better!

    Mid movie, we had tea and cookies!

    064

    I had an herbal tea and Jodus and I split this plate of Girl Scout cookies.

    060

    Thank You Berry Much

    061

    Dulce De Leche

    062

    Fun fact: 99% of the time, the boy and I choose which movie to watch at night based on the length of the film and how early it is! Twilight was half an hour shorter than the other Netflix we have so it won! (And SAW VI was the shortest of the three of them which is why we watched it last night!)

    Catchya on the flip side!

    -L4L-

    7 Responses

    1. We got our first RSVPs today too–but we knew what both of them would be already too. Yes from my mom, no from some old people that can’t travel. Hopefully more come today!

    2. The next Twilight is NOT better. You have to read the books, they are childish (and childishly written, IMO) and CHEESY, but good if you like hot guys & fake vampires. If like my little brother you like REAL vampires, you know, the kind that don’t sparkle in the sun, fall in love with humans and are generally badasses, none of the Twilight series will ever be pleasing.

      The 2nd movie made me want to jump out a window and was just painful to watch. A went with me to see it in ithe theater and he told me NEVER AGAIN would he see a Twilight film with me. Sucks since Eclipse is the best book by far (again, IMO), so I really wanted to drag him to that.

    3. PS: I want that soup!

    4. Hmm, often we pick our movies by the lenght too. Stop copying me 🙂

      We haven’t sent our RSVP cause I’m still trying to figure out if I am going to also buy a plan ticket for Geoffrey….the Adkins family Vampire, whom hates Twilight, etc.

    5. Your fried eggs are absolute perfection! I enjoy them every time. This B-fast really hit the spot. Thanks again!

      I thought the soup we had at dinner was pretty darn good too. You did a great job with it. I think the only thing I’d change would be to give the soup a simpler name. 🙂

      I loved all the pics in this post. Nice!

    6. That soup looks awesome! Starred! 🙂

      I lovelovelove Twilight. The books moreso than the movie, obvi. You should definitely clear a week in your schedule so you can get hooked on them 😉

    7. I have made that soup twice now and love it–whoever is reading this–MAKE THIS SOUP!

    Leave a Reply

