Mushy Crunch

Waffle Wednesday

This mornings waffle was the perfect blend of textures: mushy and crunchy and chewy!

006

My inspiration?

008

Banana nut bread!

010

Last night, my amazing boy brought up the waffle iron and pre-made the batter. This morning, it was so easy to just flip on the iron and prep the toppings!

003 005

Mushed up bananas

001

Chopped walnuts

Butter + agave

012

Yummers!

This might be a new fav waffle combo? Def top 3 anyway!

My daily up of Joe:

011

Side note: while Jodus was gone for 3 weeks, I never made coffee but I did find myself at Sbux a couple/few times a week. It’s been sooo nice that he makes coffee every night/morning! Money saver! (And time!)

Lunch

I managed to not have a morning snack today! Instead, I had some Mighty leaf Hojicha Tea to fend off any lurking munchies.

013 014

Lunch was leftover inside-out lasagna, complete with ricotta cheese!

015 016 017 018

I wasn’t feeling quite satisfied so I hit the bullpen (a room full of the newer advisors in our company) for some cookies that I just knew they had to have stashed somewhere!

I didn’t leave empty handed!

019

And literally, before I could even finish eating them, my boss came back from lunch and brought me a cookie!

023

Apparently he got it at Pasta & co.

021

It sounds like a badass place!

020

If I ever find myself at work without food for lunch, I know where I’m going! Too bad it isn’t a real restaurant. 😦

It was a damn good cookie.

024

Dinner

After work, I had another dress fitting. I really thought this was going to be it.

027

But it wasn’t.

Some more little alterations need to be made. And I bought a slip to add more poof to my dress. And I bought my shoes! Super exciting. I also fell in love with a necklace… but it was $200 and there ain’t no way I’m dropping that amount of change on a necklace. I don’t care if it is my day or not.

After my fitting, I headed to Nordie’s to buy some foot petals and then to the jewelers to pick up Jodus’ ring.

Um, they got the wrong size made.

Awesome. But it was an easy fix to reorder another one so it should just be a couple weeks of waiting now.

Then I went to Target on the hunt for some cheap jewelry for the big day.

Nada.

On my way home, my mother called so we chatted a bit, mostly wedding shizz.

Somewhere in there, I got myself a tall soy chai latte with a Sbux gift card the boy pawned off on me.

025

ANYWAY, I think it was near 7 when I finally got around to starting dinner? Eeks. That’s late for us!

037

Tonight was Cooking Light’s Roast Chicken with Balsamic Bell Peppers.

Ingredients

  • 3/4  teaspoon  salt, divided
  • 3/4  teaspoon  fennel seeds, crushed (I don’t like fennel and we didn’t have any.)
  • 1/2  teaspoon  black pepper, divided
  • 1/4  teaspoon  garlic powder
  • 1/4  teaspoon  dried oregano
  • 4  (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • 2  tablespoons  olive oil, divided
  • Cooking spray
  • 2  cups  thinly sliced red bell pepper
  • 1  cup  thinly sliced yellow bell pepper
  • 1/2  cup  thinly sliced shallots (about 1 large)
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1  cup  fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 1  tablespoon  balsamic vinegar

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 450°.

2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Combine 1/2 teaspoon salt, fennel seeds, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, garlic powder, and oregano. Brush chicken with 1 1/2 teaspoons oil; sprinkle spice rub over chicken. Add 1 1/2 teaspoons oil to pan. Add chicken; cook 3 minutes or until browned. Turn chicken over; cook 1 minute. Arrange chicken in an 11 x 7–inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake at 450° for 10 minutes, turn down to 350* for another 10 minutes or until done.

3. Heat remaining olive oil over medium-high heat. Add bell peppers, shallots, and rosemary; sauté 3 minutes. Stir in broth, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Reduce heat; simmer 5 minutes. Increase heat to medium-high. Stir in vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper; cook 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Serve bell pepper mixture over chicken.

 

028 030 038 029 031 032

We were all out of potatoes so I just made wild rice instead.

040 041

I think this meal was ok. I’m a tough critic though. Jodus liked it. I thought it was lacking something though I did like the rosemary + balsamic mix.

We ate in front of the TV watching Saw VI. Bejeebus. I’m not immune to the horror yet – even after 6 flicks.

Humpidy hump hump hump! It’s all downhill from here!

-L4L-

6 Responses

  1. Sorry to keep you late with all the wedding, how did you say it? Shizz? Dinner looked fab, I just had leftover lasagne, the outside out and insided in kind 🙂

  2. Saw 6?? For real? I had no idea they were up to that many…craaazy.

  3. I watched Zombieland (a skerry comedy) last night and screamed like 18 times. I think A is done with me and scary movies now *eyeroll*.

    What kind of jewelry are you looking for? Check antique stores girlie!

  4. I am so jealous of your waffle maker! I just can’t bring myself to buy one but I really want one haha. Also, I am such a chicken when it comes to horror movies. I the OG Freddie Kruger still scares me!

  5. I don’t like horror movies. Well, one, I’m a wimp and I don’t enjoy the adrenaline and gore. I watch movies to de-stress, not get more stressed out!!

    I am in love with that waffle. I need to try that combo asap!!

  6. Your idea for this waffle combo was pure genius! I LOVED it! Definitely one of my favorite waffle toppings ever. Mmmmm!!!

    Pre-making the waffle batter the night before really made things easier. I think will have to make a habit of that (at least for weekday waffles).

    Your never-ending dress alterations sure are annoying. Hopefully this will be the last time you have to send it back. Good thing we have plenty of time.

    I really enjoyed making dinner with you! It was pretty darn good. It wasn’t amazing though. I just liked the flavors of the onion and bell peppers I think. The rest was pretty standard. But a great weekday dinner. Pretty easy overall.

Leave a Reply

