Out Of Control

Within the span of 28 hours, roughly, we ate the entire batch of cookies that I baked on Saturday night.

Yes.

You heard me right.

An entire batch.

24 large cookies to be exact.

This is what happens when I have an open bag of cookies in front of me.

Don’t worry though. I did say “we” before. But I think the boy and I are pretty even on the damage done.

Today was not much better on the self control front.

Breakfast

Quick and easy – leftover frittata with sour cream on top.

001 003

And a cup of joe + soymilk.

002

Morning snack:

007

Shame on me for not fishing out my serving and eating from my hand. I noshed on these for the majority of the morning.

Self Control – 0, Indulgence – 1

Lunch

Leftover potato leek soup.

008

And a piece of chocolate.

009

Self Control – 0, Indulgence – 2

And an emergen-C thingy.

010

I might just be paranoid but I’m feeling really run down. One of the girls from my office called in sick with mono today though. I really hope I didn’t get it.

[unpictured string cheese]

Dinner

My gym bag was packed this morning. Put in my car this morning. And I had every intention of going.

Can I just pull the, “I’m listening to my body” excuse on this one?

Nah, I didn’t think so. I’m just a lazy mo-fo.

Instead, I curled up on the couch with chocolate and Desperate Housewives.

Self Control – 0, Indulgence – 4

I did get around to making dinner. Though I didn’t do much because I just instructed the boy to do all the chopping.

Tonight’s meal came from … Eating Well! HA! You thought I was going to say Cooking Light again!

012

Inside Out Lasagna

Inside-Out Lasagna

Ingredients

  • 8 10 ounces whole-wheat brown rice rotini or fusilli
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 3 7 cloves cloves garlic, sliced
  • 8 10 ounces sliced white mushrooms (about 3 1/2 cups)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes with Italian herbs
  • 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 8 cups baby spinach
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper (optional)
  • 3/4 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
  • fresh basil
Preparation
  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add pasta; cook until just tender, 8 to 10 minutes or according to package directions. Drain and transfer to a large bowl.
  2. Meanwhile, heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add onion and garlic and cook, stirring, until soft and beginning to brown, about 3 minutes. Add mushrooms, salt and pepper and cook, stirring, until the mushrooms release their liquid, 4 to 6 minutes.
  3. Add tomatoes, spinach and crushed red pepper (if using). Increase heat to medium-high; cook, stirring once halfway through, until the spinach is wilted, about 4 minutes.
  4. Toss the sauce with the pasta and divide among 4 bowls. Dollop each serving with 3 tablespoons of ricotta.

The goods

014 015

Onion, garlic, and mushrooms

011

My sous chef

016

Saute the onion and garlic.

019

Add mushroom, salt and pepper.

Add tomato, seasoning, red pepper, spinach.

030

Noodles

031

Mixed together:

033

Served up with dollops of ricotta.

034 035 036

To be 100% honest, I wasn’t too terribly impressed.

038

What I did like was the bites of garlic and the globs of ricotta. Other than that, I thought it was bland and boring. I also liked my fresh basil touch.

Even though it wasn’t great, I did something I very rarely do.

039

I went back for seconds.

Self Control – 0, Indulgence – 5

Let’s see if I can get through the rest of the night without attacking Girl Scout cookies or ice cream.

Um, so I need to spell it out??

P. M. S.

-L4L-

5 Responses

  1. I am so sad the inside out lasagna wasn’t more of a hit. I am going to try and make it tonight. Being vegetarian is hard 😦

  2. I actually thought the inside out lasagna was pretty good. Not amazing, but decent enough. Of course, I’m a sucker for anything with garlic and onions in it. 😀

    I’ve been a little out of control with the snacks and sweets too. I need to do a lot better and work on getting back into an exercise routine. Heading to the gym tonight for sure!

  3. Hope you don’t get mono! I had it last summer and it sucks!

    The inside out lasagna looks interesting. I’m not big on ricotta though.

  4. Where did you find that sous chef?? I need to hire one of my own!! 😉

  5. WooHoo, cute sous chef! Definitly a keeper.

Leave a Reply

