Kitchen Rookie

Breakfast

There was only one thing on my mind when I thought about what to make for breakfast this morning and that was a breakfast sandwich! We had all the ingredients for the perfect sandwich!

2 pieces of Dave’s, toasted.

One side buttered, with a slice of fake cheese. The other side slathered in mayo with lots of fresh ground pepper.

008

Add 1 fried egg, seasoned with Goya, and 2 slices of thick bacon.

009

DELISH!

To healthify it up, I had 2 cuties.

013015

And a cup of coffee + soymilk.

014

Lunch

My schedule was weird today. I worked at Nordie’s 12-4 which was smack dab during my lunch time but not a long enough shift to get a lunch break.

I opted to eat an early lunch before heading out.

I had a bowl of the potato leek soup from last night.

016 017 019

I couldn’t quite manage it all so the boy polished it off for me! What a guy!

I left work with an inkling of hunger. I had a Soyjoy bar in my bag so I ate that.

020

This was my first time with a Soyjoy and I only bought it because it was on sale.

021

The verdict? It was a dry, crumbly mess but the apple flavor was fantastic.

Dinner

Yet another Cooking Light recipe, I made Spicy Moroccan Stewed Fish.

1 c uncooked couscous bulgur
3 T olive oil, divided
3 T fresh lemon juice, divided
3/4 t salt, divided
1/4 t freshly ground black pepper, divided
1 c boiling water
12 oz halibut, cut into large chunks
3/4 lb raw large shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 t cumin seeds
3/4 t ground cinnamon
2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced minced
1 fresh hot red chili pepper, thinly sliced
1/2 c clam juice
1 14/5 oz can diced tomatoes, drained
1/2 c frozen green peas

First, prepare the couscous: Place couscous in a medium bowl; add 1 T oil, 2 T lemon juice, 1/4 t salt, and 1/8 t pepper. Pour boiling water over couscous; cover and let stand for 10 minutes. Fluff with fork before serving. bulgur. Place 1 cup bulgur in a bowl. Add 2 cups boiling water. Place lid on and let set 30 minutes. Drain. Add 1 T lemon juice, 1/4 tsp salt, and fresh ground pepper.

Next, prepare the seafood: Sprinkle 1/4 t salt and 1/8 t pepper over fish. Toss shrimp with 1/4 t salt.

Then, prepare the stew: In a large skillet, warm 3 T oil over medium heat. Add cumin seeds, cinnamon, garlic, and chili pepper. Cook for 2 minutes, then layer the following ingredients: fish, shrimp, and tomatoes. Cook for 5 min. Add peas and shrimp and cook for 5 more min.

Serve the stew over couscous and enjoy!

It didn’t turn out half bad. No process pics today because the boy was busy with laundry. 😉

024 025 026 027 028

I served it with some steamed asparagus for added green.

022 023

The cumin seeds got torched so left a black speckle all over the dish but it still tasted yum. We give it a solid B.

I also had a dabble of wine with dinner.

030 029

The bulgur, which I had a couple bites of plain, was fantastic and simple and I definitely want to make it that way again. I think I prefer it to cous cous. Not as dry, I think.

Last night, I was flipping through the latest Cooking Light and I giggled at this feature.

001

I knew that I would probably be guilty of some of these things and certainly, I was. Here are some of the more noteworthy and pertinent ones for me.

002 

Guilty as charged! I chronically try and make substitutions in cooking! Inevitably, I have had a few things really just not turn out at all.

003 

Now, even though yesterdays recipe for those cookies called for melted butter, maybe that is the culprit for my mal-formed cookies?

004 

I know for a fact that my burners and oven run hot. I’m just not sure by how much. I really want to try this bread trick!

005 

I try to actually measure in baking because I realize the importance but I rarely measure in cooking. It’s ruined a few dishes.

006 

I definitely don’t shock my veggies but I can totally see why you should do it. I’ve had my fair share of mush on a plate.

007

I feel like this is a big one. I am cheap. I don’t always have the freshest and best ingredients. I will get what’s on sale, use what I have, use stuff that may be on its last leg.

But oh well. I may have a number of goofs in my kitchen but you know what? I have also had countless successes by cooking my rookie way!

What “OOPS” are you guilty of? (full list)

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. First, heck yes to that breakfast sandwich!! Fake cheese, mayo and bacon is how they’re meant to be done 😉

    I may be guilty of all of these :\ Well, except the substitutions one. I guess I try to make healthy muffins and breads for snacks, but when it comes to cookies and other sweets, no healthy substitutions are allowed. It’s just a waste of calories to eat a sub-par cookie 😉

    I want to try that toast trick too! Although, I have a pretty good sense of my oven from making so many fries. One other mistake I’m guilty of is having dull knives. A decent knife can make a world of difference!

  2. Yum, that breakfast sandwich looks amazing. I haven’t had bacon in ages!

  3. I’ll have to try that bread trick myself, I’ll wait until I want to make some homemade stuffing or something so I don’t waste the bread.

    I do measure when I bake and rarely substitute unless it’s fairly equitable, craisins versus raisins, etc. but then again baking isn’t really my thing.

    I probably will be a “chronic approximate” when it comes to cooking, it’s what makes it fun. Sometimes you just have to live dangerously!

  4. […] Kitchen Rookie […]

Leave a comment