Licked & Stamped

As I find my Saturday coming to a close, I am quite drained but feel great about everything we accomplished today!

Breakfast

We woke up at the decent hour of 8am. It’s too easy for us to sleep in until 10 so when I found myself partially aroused from my slumber at 8, I forced myself to be up. I don’t regret it at all! Jodus actually commented on how refreshed he felt this morning!

Since we bought eggs last night at Costco, I knew they would be on my breakfast menu! I also happened to have some already chopped veggies in the fridge so I threw together a frittata really quickly.

005

4 eggs, red bell pepper, green onion, mushroom, spinach, and cheese seasoned with a bit of garlic powder, fresh cilantro, and cumin.

010

Into the dirty oven it went and came out a bit over cooked on the bottom. Oops!

012

Still tasted decent!

015

I topped mine with sour cream, of course!

018

With a side of bacon!

020

YUM. Salty goodness!

And I sipped on coffee while breakfast cooked.

011

Aren’t we attractive in the morning?

021022

Breakfast, at least, certainly is!

017

We headed out to get started on our to-do list.

This mostly entailed conquering wedding invitations!

First stop: Edmonds Post Office. Wait in line. We weighed the invites, deduced that we needed 44 cent stamps for the RSVP envelopes and 61 cent stamps for the big envelope. They had 44 but not 61. Ugh. They called another post office to confirm they had them before we made the trip.

Second stop: Lynnwood Post Office. Wait in line. Buy stamps.

Third stop: my office. I did some work while Jodus worked on printing labels and making inserts. Yes, I have no shame and will utilize work resources to get the job done. In this case, the laser printer, paper cutter, and better letter wetter.

We had a snack somewhere in here. (We ended up being at the office for 3+ hours.)

024

And then we tackled the licking, sticking and stuffing.

025

Mission accomplished! 68 invites complete!

026

We have 12 leftover as of right now but I am sure that we will be doing some random ones as we go. Maybe. Maybe not.

028

Lunch

It was after 1, maybe closer to 2? And we were starving so we dropped off the invites and headed to Whole Foods for lunch!

Per usual, I hit the salad bar.

This time, there were 2 distinct layers in my salad: the hot bar and the cold bar.

Layer 1:

030 032 033 034 035

Grilled veggies, pea & mushroom curry, rice, mac & cheese, roasted garlic, Hawaiian tofu, some sort of bread thingy.

Layer 2:

039

Greens, kidney beans, edamame, mushrooms, onion, peas, corn, balsamic vinaigrette, snow peas, beets, carrots, black quinoa, shrimpies.

Jodus and I basically split the actual salad part.

And he also got a sandwich.

037

And a bag of FSTG chips. (I stole 2-3.)

040

And we split a Kombucha.

036

Now, I want to be absolutely clear about this.

We had every intention of going to the gym this afternoon.

But the invitations took a little longer than expected.

And I was really full after Whole Foods.

And I was tired.

So we went to Fred Meyer instead and did a little bit of shopping for stuff that has been lingering on our need-list.

Don’t hate!

I know, I know, I really suck at the gym. But I did go twice last week which is a massive improvement from the previous … oh, 6 months?

Dinner

When we finally got home around 4:30, I started on dinner so it could simmer on the stove a bit.

Today’s inspiration is from Cooking Light (again, I know. I am unoriginal!). I actually could not find the exact recipe available online so I will just tell you what I did.

Leek & Potato Soup

    • 2 leeks, chopped
    • 8 cups chicken broth
    • 3 Tbls EVOO
    • 1 large onion, chopped
    • 3 carrots, chopped
    • 2 Tbls minced garlic
    • 3 lbs red potato, cubed
    • 3/4 cup low fat buttermilk
    • pepper to taste
    • salt to taste
  • Sauté onion, leek, carrot, and garlic in EVOO.
  • Add broth and potatoes, simmer until tender.
  • Mash potatoes until desire consistency is met.
  • Stir in buttermilk, add salt and pepper to taste.

Easy as pie and really hearty!

Thank you, boy, for being a wonderful photographer!

041 042 044 049 051 047 050 052 055 059 061 091

We sipped some iced coffee while it cooked.

093

I helped myself to a little cup soup around 7.

100

And the boy got a nice big mug full!

099

The best thing is that we have a ton of leftovers now!

101

While the soup was simmering, we also made a batch of cookies.

Surprise, surprise! The recipe comes from Cooking Light, yet again. I swear, I am just becoming a Cooking Light test kitchen.

And these did not turn out like the picture.

097 098

Guff.

Anyway, the recipe is Chocolate-Cherry Heart Smart Cookies.

  • 1.5  ounces  all-purpose flour (about 1/3 cup)
  • 1.5  ounces  whole-wheat flour (about 1/3 cup)
  • 1 1/2  cups  old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 6  tablespoons  unsalted butter
  • 3/4  cup  packed light brown sugar
  • 1  cup  dried cherries craisens and chopped dates
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • 1  large egg, lightly beaten
  • 3  ounces  bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • Cooking spray
  • Don’t know what exactly went wrong but my batter was super crumbly and my cookies weren’t at all fluffy really. They still tasted all right. Just not superb.

    The ingredients:

    064 068072 073 069

    The process:

    065 075 076 078 080 082 083 085 086 087 095

    I ate like 3 tonight already. I really don’t know why I baked them. Especially since I have 6 boxes of Girl Scout cookies staring me down every time I open the pantry.

    096

    *le sigh*

    And with that, I am leaving you with a neat picture Jodus took this evening off our deck.

    089

    The sun line is awesome!

    Toodles!

    -L4L-

    One Response

    1. I had my sons stuff the wedding invite envelopes. I payed them 10 cents for each one. One great thing about kids…….cheap labor.

    Leave a Reply

