Turn That Frown Upside Down

Seriously. I have the best H2B ever. You know how I was wicked cranky yesterday? Yeah, well, he made sure that didn’t happen again today!

Breakfast

I was woken up at 5:30 by the gentle nudging by the boy saying that breakfast was just about ready!

Say what?!

Usually, he wakes me up then I go down and do breakfast. He showered last night so he’d have time this morning to treat me to a stress-free breakfast! What a sweetheart!

So what did he have in store?

003

Oatmeal with lots of almond butter and strawberry jam in an attempt to satisfy my never-ending hunger!

001

It was so yum!

I had coffee + vanilla soymilk, of course.

006

I had a morning snack of a couple of handfuls of Christina’s “trail mix” that was made up of cheerios, marshmallows, chocolate, raisins, and walnuts!

007

Lunch

Another bonus point for the boy! He made BBQ chicken last night while I worked and packed me up the leftovers!

011

He used the BBQ sauce that Brie gave us from Kansas City on the chicken, made green beans, and sweet potato fries. Last night, he said he was a bit disappointed in dinner. The sweet potato fries didn’t get crispy and the BBQ sauce was really salty. I have to agree with him.

010

I ended up scraping off most of the sauce and it was still salty.

008 009

It really wasn’t satisfying but I really appreciated Jodus’ effort.

Dessert of course:

012

And then I had a string cheese afterwards because I still wasn’t satisfied.

013

And some Jalapeno Almonds.

014

It’s just one of those days (again), I guess.

Dinner

Yay for TDP meet-ups! This time, we were graced by Jen’s presence!

048

We’ve been trying to get together forever! She travels a lot for work and has had I think 3 other Seattle trips planned that always ended up getting cancelled! So glad she finally made it to the Emerald City!

On tonight’s menu: Cooking Light Salmon Croquettes and Cherry Tomato & Herb Salad, and some roasted potatoes.

043

For the Salmon Croquettes, I was a bit confused by the type of “package” of salmon that it called for so I went with two cans of salmon.

032033 037 040

For the Cherry Tomato and Herb Salad, I only used red tomatoes, used artisan lettuce instead of Boston, and basically doubled all the other herbs. I like it herby!

020 026 029 031 042

The potatoes I roasted at 425, tossed in olive oil, salt, and pepper.

027 036 041

Jen brought over a bottle of wine (and flowers!).

  045 046

I think everything turned out great. I’ve made something similar to the salmon “patties” before but the sauce was super yum. I might make more soon! The salad was nice and light but very flavorful. And the potatoes are always a good staple! I’m really proud of myself for only having one patty and one glass of wine! 😀

Jen, thanks so much for making the trip up to our home and joining us for dinner! I’m looking forward to seeing you sooooon!

039

xoxo

-L4L-

7 Responses

  1. Yay chickie!!! How fun that you got to meet JEN! Woohoo 🙂 Glad you guys had fun!

  2. Yay – this makes me happy! Glad you all had a good time!

  3. That is so awesome…the food looks so yummy!

  4. Love salmon patties! Yum! Looks like a great time…

  5. That is SO sweet of Jodus!! Clearly the man knows oatmeal is the way to a girl’s heart 😉 I’m never on TDP anymore, but I did “meet” some wonderful people on there! (ahem, you!)

  6. What a super nice guy! 🙂 I still track on TDP occassionally but the forums are kind of a mean place nowdays.

  7. […] Turn That Frown Upside Down […]

Leave a Reply

