Light on the Cooking

I have had a long and wonderful Saturday! We started it off right by setting the alarm for 8am. This is unheard of on days that I don’t work. Absolutely  unheard of. But last night, little old me, I asked the boy to set the alarm.

Why? Why, you ask?

002

Oh yes. I hooked back up with an old friend. My running shoes. Of course, I didn’t run. But I did go to the gym and I did ellipticize for 30 minutes on an intense hill climb program and I did hit the weight room a bit for some squats, lunges, bicep curls, tricep extensions, bench press, and calf raises.

And you know what?

I kinda liked it.

It’s really not that I hate working out. It’s just that I am lazy. It’s not high on my priority list. But I do love the endorphins and it did put me in a good mood for the day.

Breakfast

Pre-gym, the boy and I split a naner.

001

Post-gym, which is conveniently located right next to Caffe Ladro, I helped myself to a soy cafe au lait.

005 006007

When we got home, we busted out a decadent breakfast to reward undo our hard work at the gym!

048

Taken from Cooking Light, we made Carrot Cake Pancakes and they were FABULOUS. We followed the recipe exactly.

017 020 021     029 033 026037 038 039 045 047

I topped them with a combo butter/agave blend as suggested (well, butter/honey but same diff).

053

With out pancakes, I juiced about a dozen oranges!

010 049 

I love love love fresh OJ!

Even though my juicer makes a mess!

013

Breakfast was just superb.

050

And super filling with all the liquids that we had with the pancakes!

Lunch

After breakfast, we hurriedly showered and changed and went down the docks to pick up my Dad!

055

Then we drove downtown to meet up with  my Grandma for lunch at my dad’s fav joint. Ipanema’s is an awesome all-you-can-eat Brazilian Grill restaurant!

054 056 086

(teehee!)

We went here back in November (oh wow, look how short my hair was!) and I had just stuck with the salad bar and it worked out famously so I did that again today. The salad bar is out of this world good! And I love that it is different every single time!

058059060 061 062063064

My first plate:

072

A Caprese Salad of sorts

065

Marinated Asparagus

066

Marinated Tomato

067

Olive, Artichoke, Sundried Tomato Salad

068

Grilled Onion

069

Marinated Snap Peas

070

Potato Salad

071

I cleared my plate except those potatoes. Me no likey.

My second plate:

082

Polenta with tomato sauce

075

Bread with herb butter

076

Shrimp and calamari

077

Clams

078

Fake Crab Salad

079

Marinated Mushrooms

080

Different potatoes that were much better!

081

I may have also had a fried banana. 😉

074

The boy had one plate of salad.

073

Then the rest of his plates were more carnivorous! These were his 2 favs, I think. Parmesan pork and peppered steak.

084

After gorging, we said good-bye to my Grandma then went to the shop where Jodus bought my engagement ring. We think we found my wedding band but we are going to get it priced for a couple of small changes. But that was nice to have done!

We finally made it home and then spent the rest of the day playing Settlers of Catan! It’s a 3+ person game so whenever dad comes over, we take advantage of it to play this game!

091 092 093098

Somehow, this got laid down in front of me without a peep from my mouth.

095

I won a game. Then Dad won a game. Then Jodus won a game. So we had to have a tie breaker game. And Dad won. Shucks.

Dinner

Somewhere in there, I threw together a super quick and easy soup for something light for dinner since we were so stuffed from lunch.

Black Bean Soup

  • 1 Tbls Canola oil
  • 1/2 of a large onion, chopped
  • 1 Tbls chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cans of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1 jar of medium salsa
  • 1 Tbls lime juice

Easy, right?

Saute the onion in oil.

102

Add spices.

103

Add beans. And salsa. And lime juice. And water.

104

Let simmer until delicious.

105

Garnish with sour cream and cilantro.

107

Eat on knee while playing games.

108

And have a second glass of wine.

101

We got Dad back off to the ferry, after we used him for his credit card to book our hotel for the wedding! Yay! We are also discussing seeing a show in Vegas. Any input there?

Operation: Bridal Body was successful today for the most part. Gym was awesome. I did eat a bit too much. But I did turn down chocolate when the boy put it in front of me. Baby steps.

Tomorrow I work 10-7 so I don’t expect to go to the gym but I have my meals planned out and it is going to be deliciouso!

G’night!

-L4L-

13 Responses

  1. Those pancakes look amazing! I’ve been such a lazy cook lately…you inspire me 🙂 congrats on making it back to the gym… I swear its creating the routine/habit thats the hard part. That’s kinda why I’m scared to take more than a day or two off from exercise in a row…I might never go back!

  2. Yummyyyyy to those pancakes and that black bean soup. I have been dying for BB soup and have asked Anthony to make it 750x but he hasn’t because I haven’t gotten him a recipe. How’s this one??

    Yay for the hotel & ring chica 🙂

    • The black bean soup was ridiculously easy and tasted delicious. The original recipe I followed only called for 1/2 a cup of salsa. And I put in a 2 cup jar. I recommend doing the same to give it more flavor. Jodus and my dad both liked it as well! That says something!

  3. Lunges are the devil I tell ya!!! Great job Leah – you have such great modivation!!! I cannot wait to see pics of your wedding!! You are going to make a beautiful bride!! That soup looks yummy!!

  4. When I saw the pics of preparing the pancakes, the carrots really threw me off but they look so big nd fluffy I need to try that recipe!

  5. was the carrot flavor in the pancakes too much? I’m a little nervous to try it because I don’t like a crunch in my pancake if ya know what I mean!

    • Not at all! Having them shredded instead of chunks made them not crunchy at all and there was hardly a carrot flavor at all! It’s a great way to get extra veggies in without even really noticing!

  6. Horay for a productive day! That BB Soup looks amazing, and I’m about to have some pancakes myself! (Not as delicious though). For shows, I’ve seen the Lion King and it is FANTASTIC and I’ve seen Phantom of the Opera (our treat after getting married) and of course i LOVED it. I don’t think you can go wrong with any of the big shows in Vegas. 🙂

  7. It sounds like you are going to have an amazing wedding. Are you getting married in Vegas?? Are you parents divorced?? If they are did that effect your views on marriage at all??

  8. I just got back from Vegas and saw the Beatles Love Cirque du Soleil show … if you’re a Beatles fan at all, you will love this show. It was AMAZING! (I didn’t love the Cirque “O” show at Bellagio, though). Also, I’d recommend going to as many restaurants as you can while you’re there — a great way to do this is to have drinks and appetizers at 3-4 places as dinner!

  9. YAY for ellipticizin’ and bicep curlin’!!!!!! The only thing that could make you more lazy, is to expend the small about of energy you do have at the gym. I know, I do it everyday 😉

    Lunch + Dinner look fab. I’m making your salmon stew soon! Tomorrow perhaps? Can’t wait!

  10. I love Cirque du Soleil! I recommend almost any of their shows…I’ve seen Zumanity (the sexy one) twice and it’s really fun

Leave a Reply

