Operation: Bridal Body

It’s no secret that I’m a lazy slob.

I don’t really enjoy working out.

And I really enjoy eating.

It’s a deadly combo.

As of today, I am exactly 100 days away from my wedding day. Exactly.

It’s rather exciting, actually. But as the day draws near, I find myself getting somewhat panicky. I think it is due largley in part that I am still working at Nordstrom when I signed on being under the impression my time would come to a swift close after the holidays. But that hasn’t been the case. And while the extra cash has been nice, I have been neglecting my duties as a bride – not only to the wedding, but also to myself.

It’s time to shape up.

I had a dress fitting this week. The dress zipped. But it is snug. The zipper strained a bit. It wasn’t the most comfortable. And I’m actually down a few pounds from the initial fitting. It just goes to show you that weight and fitness do not necessarily go hand in hand.

I’ve gone a bit soft. And I’ll be the first to admit it.

So what’s the game plan?

For the next 100 days, I am going to focus on being more active, eating less sweets/snacking, and watching my portion control.

That’s all.

Nothing riveting. I told you! But I need to have some sort of goal/game plan to make me do it, hence Operation: Bridal Body.

Hopefully, my efforts will not go unnoticed.

Exercise:

One of the gals at work is going to do some Bikram with me starting next week. I was thinking I would sign up for the 3 month pass ($300!!). But I haven’t done Bikram. And I’m not sure how well it is going to work with my schedule. I can do the 6am class before work or the 4:30 class on days that I don’t do Nordstrom. So I opted to start with a 1 week trial pass for $20 and go from there. The main thing is that I would be doing this with Christina which would be a good motivator and it would be something different from my gym that I’m obviously not in love with since I haven’t been in 5 months.

If this Bikram thing isn’t panning out, I’ll give the gym another shot. We’ll see how it goes.

Snacking:

I think that in the general eating realm, I’m pretty good. But the snacking and bites of chocolate here and there and handfuls of nuts as a grab and go that most of the time go undocumented – that’s what isn’t helping matters.

To help myself, I vow to photograph every morsel that goes into my mouth. Accountability, right? And if I do crappy, feel free to slap my wrists.

Portion Control:

I really don’t think I am too terrible at portion control but I would love to see more veggies in my diet. More greens. Less meat and grains. Kind of like I was doing on the detox. That was great!

Goals

I realy have no weight goals for this. It’s just a feel-good sort of thing. My goal is to make it to exercise at least 2x a week, if not 4x a week. I’m not sure what I should expect with my schedule though so we will see how it all goes!

Wish me luck!

100 days to go!

-L4L-

10 Responses

  1. Wow 100 days! It will go by so fast 🙂
    I really hope you like the yoga, I’ve never practiced yoga. But, it seems like a multipurpose activity, sweat and strengthening which is good for a busy schedule.
    I’ve just gotten back into a steady workout schedule and my biggest tip is to schedule it into your day. It won’t happen every time you schedule it, but it just seems so much more possible to accomplish when you have it “written” in your day.

  2. Any stairs at your office?

    Don’t worry, I’ve been putting off exercising as well and using the snow as an excuse. Going vegetarian (for now, then going caveman) is going to be somewhat helpful, but NOT if I keep eating Girl Scout cookies & honey toast like it’s going out of style *eyeroll*. And you know about my munchies 😉

    I think you can totally do it! Think about your wedding as the one day you hope not to repeat and the pictures as a once in a lifetime opportunity. Feeling your best is key, so a little sacrifice is worth it chica. I’ll stay on your ass!

    The most successful thing I do (to skip bagel days at work every Thursday) is just to remind myself that it will be there later. Unless the world comes to an end after your wedding, Ferrero Rocher, Cookies, Cake & Pie will still be around. Every day you put them off is one day closer to being able to hang out with them again.

  3. I’m also watching my diet a little closer as my wedding approaches. Nothing major, but I want to look and feel my best on the wedding day!

  4. Leah, i think you will be just fine! You will stay focused and your eating is NOT horrible. 🙂 You can do this!

    Why not do a one week detox? The week before the wedding so that you can feel refreshed? I will try to make sure to not let you have one too many margaritas at your Bachelorette bash!

    You will make one beautiful bride!

    James owes me an outdoor wedding in FL, so hopefully when that time comes, I will try to be as good as you are 🙂

  5. […] Operation: Bridal Body […]

  6. You’ll do great! I’m sure of it!

  7. You can do it! Sounds like you’ve got a good plan in place already. I think my problem right now is I don’t have any “event” to shape up for…no wedding, no beach vacation, etc. I’d like to lose 5 lbs so running is easier, but even that’s not that big a deal. So much harder to motivate myself when the only reason I have is…”eh I want to” you know?

  8. I still don’t believe you don’t like working out. There is some activity out there you haven’t discovered yet that you love!! Maybe it’s Bikram?? 😉

  9. […] Topped with syrup, butter, and powdered sugar! Go big or go home, right? (Haha, so much for Operation: Bridal Body!) […]

Leave a Reply

