Olympians

Happy Monday! I can’t wait for this week to be over! The boy comes home Friday. We have a hot date planned for Sunday! I have the weekend off! Yay!

Breakfast

All I could think about this morning was fried eggs. That’s all I wanted. I’m pretty sure that is what got me out of bed. Just the thought of eggs.

004

Along with my 2 eggs (sprinkled in Goya), I had 2 slices of Dave’s Good Seed with some TJ’s Pumpkin Butter slathered on.

001 003

Satisfying. Not phenomenal. But it is Monday morning so what do you expect?

002

Lunch

Being that I haven’t been home in 3 days and I only had 1 evening off last week, there is literally no food in my kitchen. It’s going to make for an interesting couple of days.

Result for lunch?

005

Soup! I won this can from Brie a few weeks ago.

006

I’ve had it before. It’s not bad. I added lots of pepper. And I don’t like how mushy the carrots are but beggars can’t be choosers.

Dessert was 2 cookies, homemade chocolate chip!

007

Afternoon snacks:

Fruity!

008

Actually, the banana was mega mush so I tossed it after 2 bites.

Dinner

I really had no idea what I was going to do for dinner tonight. I had nothing packed so I knew I would be stuck with mall food of some sort. I ended up electing Panera for my dinner locale.

009

It was my first time! Can you believe?

I ordered the BBQ Chicken Salad which came with a hunk of multigrain bread.

010 011

So good!

012

I devoured!

013

Olympians

As we approach the 2010 Olympic Winter Games, I am more aware of them then ever before. Perhaps it is the close proximity and the flooding of local news, more so than years past. Perhaps it is the flooding of advertisements in the airport, on television, billboards. This year’s games are taking place a mere couple hours north of us in Vancouver. And while I would love to attend, I shall be avoiding the northern I-5 corridor like the plague.

I imagine that all hotels are booked. I imagine that the borders will be backed up more than usual. There will be crowds every where. Media every where. Athletes every where. Not really my cup of tea. But oh how I love the idea of going to the Olympics.

The boy lived in Salt Lake City when the Olympics were there. He never went. Supposedly, it was good for the SLC economy, as I’d imagine. I think he might have a jacket or something from there.

True athletes are rather intimidating to me. I truly envy the dedication more so than the actual talent that an athlete has. And as I write that statement, I reflect back on watching the Miss America pageant where I felt the opposite: those that were essentially talentless but had learned and practiced something enough I did not think as highly of. But why does that mode of though differ when I look at athletes? I’m not sure.

If anyone has any insight, I would gladly listen.

Right now, I find myself saddened by not having cable. Oh how I love watching the figure skating competitions. I even don’t mind the skiing and such. But the skating is what I truly enjoy. Hopefully I can catch glimpses at Nordie’s on my breaks. Or perhaps it might even motivate me enough to go to the gym to watch while clocking in some much needed miles on the dreadmill? We haven’t gotten any snow this year. What do they do about that? Do they lay down some fake snow? I’m obviously not attuned to winter sports. I have a tendency to avoid snow. I prefer to make “snow angels” on the kitchen floor instead of a white, wet powdery blanket. 😉

Do you watch or plan to watch the Olympics?

-L4L-

5 Responses

  1. OMG I love Panera. Sadly being gluten free now I really can’t go, but I do love it so. 😦

    I like to watch the gymnastics (probably just because I took gymnastics as a little kid) and the figure skating. The athletes are so dedicated. I couldn’t imagine working out hours and hours each day.

  2. I will definitely be watching the olympics!! Although, I’m a bad Canadian, I prefer the summer ones 🙂 Interesting to hear you compare athletes to those like pageant competitors. I think a lot of it with athletes has to do with natural talent, but a BIG chunk of it also has to do with someone recognizing this when they were young and taking the time to hone and perfect that skill. And money. You need $$$ to train all day, pay a coach, and not work.

  3. Can’t wait to watch some Olympic action!

  4. […] For lunch, we decided on Panera because I liked their salad so much last week. […]

Leave a Reply

