A Little Boo-Boo

Inventory last night actually wasn’t too bad! I was home shortly after 11 and sound asleep by 11:30! But the alarm going off at 5:30 was brutal.

Breakfast

Due to the limited hours of sleep I got, and a couple extra snoozes, I grabbed breakfast for the road!

002

2 Waste Eliminators muffins!

Morning snack: delicious juicy pear! (And half a tube of Strawberry Mentos.)

003

Lunch

The very very last of the pilaf (thank God) and some steamed broccoli that stunk up the office!

 007 008 004

Dessert:

009 

Split with Christina!

Afternoon snack:

010

(Christina stole a few wedges)

And another muffin when I got home!

011

Dinner

I had pulled out a salmon filet last night to have for dinner but I didn’t know what I wanted to do with it. But then I recalled a recipe that was posted on Bella Eats earlier this week. Of course I made some tweaks!

serves 4 2

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup 2 Tbls sugar
  • 1/4 cup 2 Tbls unseasoned rice vinegar
  • 2 whole star anise EW
  • 4 2 cups cold water
  • (1) 1-pound 6 3/8oz salmon fillet with skin
  • 2 navel oranges (I think 3 would be better…)
  • 4 2 cups very thinly sliced fennel (EW!)(from 2 medium bulbs) onion 
  • 1 cup small fresh mint leaves (I only used 1/4 cup, and it was plenty for us…) Didn’t have any!
  • 2 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 6 cups of arugula salad mix

Method

  1. In a large, deep skillet, combine water, sugar, vinegar and star anise.  Bring to a boil over high heat, stirring until sugar dissolves.  Add salmon filet, skin side up, to skillet.  Cover skillet and remove from heat.  Let stand 10 minutes.  Using slotted spoon, turn salmon over.  Cover and let stand until salmon is just opaque in center, 5 to 6 minutes longer.
  2. Remove salmon from liquid and cool.  Coarsely flake salmon into bowl, removing any bones and skin, and set aside.
  3. Cut top and bottom 1/4-inch off each orange.  Stand 1 orange on 1 flat end.  Using small sharp knife, cut off peel and white pith.  Working over large bowl, cut between membranes, releasing segments into bowl.  Repeat with remaining orange.
  4. Add salmon, fennel, mint and olive oil to bowl with oranges.  Gently toss to combine.  Season with salt and pepper.  Serve over bed of arugula.

It’s a good thing I like onion! If you recreate this, half the onion, double the navel orange. I also added half an avocado to the top.

017 019 022

But it was tasty!

It’s also very challenging to finish preparing dinner and eat dinner when you cut your dominant thumb. Just FYI.

015

It’s also hard to take in-focus pictures.

For dessert, I found my stash. My stash that I had the boy hide for the detox.

023 024 025

Can you believe all that chocolate?!?!? Seriously!

I think I’m going to take some of it to work.

I demolished half of this container of Edamame.

031

😀 So good!

It’s 8:30 and I am crawling into bed with my book!

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. TJ’s dark chocolate edamame are crack. I LOVE THEM!

  2. Wow that chocolate would not have lasted that long in my house. Nothing “good” ever really does.

  3. Dark chocolate covered edamame!!!!! I have never heard of such a thing!! Oh, how I would LOVE to go to a Trader Joe’s. I am SO sad that we don’t have that store in Canada. If I am ever near one, I seriously have to stock up!!!

    That seriously looks like the most delicious salad I think I have ever seen. Wow!

  4. That salad does look amazingly delicious! I sure hope you plan on making it again when I’m not out of town.

    I’m so sorry to hear that you cut your thumb. 😦

    Glad it wasn’t too bad. Hope it feels better soon!

    Love ya!

Leave a Reply

