Ice Box

I love that it is Monday and I got to sleep in. Except I’m an asshat and forgot to turn off my “weekday” alarm. Boo. I still managed to sleep in until nearly 9 and was woken by a very unhappy and hungry tummy.

Breakfast

I basically barreled downstairs and made myself a quick amazing grass + soymilk + cocoa shake and guzzled it down to appease my tummy!

001

For my actual breakfast, I made Caribbean Oats: oats, soymilk, dates, walnuts, banana, and coconut.

002

I probably ate 80%? And very slowly! I also sipped on some detox tea.

003 004

I am finding that if I don’t do it first thing in the morning, I generally don’t get around to having it at all.

We spent the morning lazing around! I looked at some Golden Globe fashion pics, watching DH and B&S’s on ABC. It was quite nice!

Lunch

Lucky us, I was in the midst of my lunch preparations and our fridge arrived! He was supposed to bring it 1-2ish and ended up showing up at 11:45. Grrr.

Bye, bye, old fridge!

015

Hello, lover!

019

BUT this presents me with a great opportunity to show you what’s in my fridge right now!

Zee Freezer!

021

  • Ice cubes
  • Normandy Mix frozen veggies
  • Frozen strawberries
  • Lima Beans
  • Coconut milk ice cream
  • Salmon
  • Chicken
  • Green Beans
  • Corn
  • Peas
  • Coffee

Zee freezer door:

022

  • Edamame
  • Salmon
  • Venison
  • Ice Packs
  • Garden Burgers
  • Black Bean Burgers

The Fridge:

023

Shelf 1:

024

  • Almond milk & Soy milk
  • Pineapple juice
  • Smart Balance Butter
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Minced Garlic
  • Black Box white wine

Shelf 2:

025

  • Club soda
  • Bell peppers
  • Spinach
  • Crunchy bean sprouts
  • green onion
  • Hummus
  • Amazing Grass
  • Almond Butter
  • Peanut Butter
  • Mayo
  • Miso Paste

Shelf 3:

026

  • Leftovers
  • Carrots
  • Swiss Chard
  • Asparagus
  • beets
  • Mushrooms
  • Good Seed Bread
  • Strawberries

Drawer #1:

027

  • Yogurt
  • String Cheese

Drawer #2 is currently empty.

Door:

028

  • Carob Chips
  • Butter
  • Yeast
  • Curry Paste
  • Ginger
  • Horseradish
  • Hot Butter Rum Mix
  • Chicken Bouillon
  • Tapenade
  • Strawberry Jam
  • Screamin’ Strawberry jam
  • Mustard
  • Chocolate Silk
  • Maple Syrup
  • Lemon Juice
  • Lemon Cilantro Dressing
  • Chalula
  • Caesar Dressing
  • Cocktail Sauce
  • Lime Juice
  • BBQ Sauce
  • Sriracha

😀

For lunch, I made African Kale and Yam Soup, adapted from another Happy Herbivore recipe.

Ingredients
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 3 small sweet potatoes, diced
  • 1 bunch of kale, chopped
  • 4 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • .5 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 2 tsp mild curry powder
  • 2 tbsp red miso paste
  • .5 tsp cinnamon
Instructions:

Line a medium pot with 1/4 cup of water and cook onions over high heat until translucent, about 3 minutes. Add broth, yam, 1 cup water and bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce to medium and cook until potatoes are almost fork tender, about 3 minutes. Immediately add kale and remaining ingredients and cook, stirring frequently, until kale is dark green and soft, about 3 more minutes. Set aside for 5-10 minutes, allowing flavors to merge.

Chopped onion

005

Sweet Potatoes

007 008

Veggie broth (love this brand b/c it has no oil or sugar added to it like most!)

009 010 

So I ended up letting the soup simmer (without the kale in it) for quite awhile during the whole fridge switcheroo.

014

But yay for new fridges!

Kale

013

Served up!

032

With a side of asparagus.

031

Mmmm Mmmm good! The boy says it is a make-again. I’m glad I essentially doubled the recipe because we managed to only get 3 servings out of this.

030 033

The boy says it is a make-again! Well, he would have if his mouth wasn’t full. 😉

034 

I enjoyed a cup of chamomile tea before heading out for my 4pm shift at Nordie’s. I also finished Julie Powell’s Cleaving.

Dinner

I packed myself up a cup of leftover Inca Corn Soup for dinner with some Mary’s crackers on the side.

036

I got around to eating it around 6:30 and resorted to scooping the soup on the crackers for maximum deliciousness!

I’m off to bed now. I have a long day tomorrow! 5:30am-10pm of non-stop moving! Eeks!

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. Mondays sure are more fun when they’re part of the weekend. It was so nice sleeping in and having a lazy morning. Love the new fridge. 😀

  2. It’s a good thing you took pictures of the new fridge, you do know that its the best it’s ever gonna look…something happens to them after we close the door. Stuff molds, things replicate, shelves get sticky…oh the horrors! It’s a good thing that I have L4LBro to fight that beast for me.

  3. Eeep. Should I be keeping my Amazing Grass in the fridge too? Cause I don’t… Also, I want to try that coconut ice cream SO badly. I finally located it and it’s over $7, I just can’t do it. That’s cutting into my vitamuffin budget 😛

Leave a Reply

