Detox Week 2 in Review

Miss my previous posts on my detox?

Why Detox?

Detox Prep

Detox Week 1

Detox Week 1 In Review

Detox Week 2

Detox Mid-Point

***

So here’s the outline that I was following for the past week! Let’s see how I did!

From  the previous weeks Decrease/Begin to Eliminate list…

Eliminate Completely

Coffee, Alcohol, Sugar, Refined Carbs, Dairy, Animal Products, Processed Foods, Fruit Juices, Chemicals, Nicotine, Refined Oils – Check! Did great on all of these.

Continue to Increase

Water, Herbal/Green Teas, Veggies  – focus on colorful veggies and lots of green!! Asparagus, artichoke, broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, cabbage, kale, collards, dandelion greens, watercress, beets, radishes, burdock root, spinach, chard, squash, sweet potatoes, Fruit – BRIGHT colors! Berries, apples, melons, Plant sources of protein, Whole Grains, Nuts/Seeds, Spices & Herbs, Unrefined Oils – Check! Lots of bright veggies and fruit and whole grains and a ton of spices!

Begin to Include in your day:

Spirulina – Amazing Grass has this! Check!

Lemon Juice/Apple Cider Vinegar – just add to water or cook with Check!

Daily Detox Powder – in smoothie or milk. I will not be doing this. I think Amazing grass + the following has me covered. Gotsa ta save $$! Negative.

Detox Tea – should contain burdock root or dandelion Check! I think I only missed one day.

Milk Thistle – I will not be doing this. It made me nauseous last year.

Green/White Tea – try Kukicha (twig tea) I got some green tea in.

Rice/Almond/Oat milk – already stated, I am sticking to soymilk for $$ reasons. Soymilk!

Seaweed – hijiki, arame, dulse A negatory for this week but I did get it in last week and I plan on getting some in the upcoming week.

Olive/Sesame Oil – sauté veggies or make a dressing Check on the EVOO! Also got in some Peanut oil!

Flaxseeds/oil, hempseed I got some flax in there.

Increase healthy spices and fresh herbs Big huge check!

Advanced Support for the Program

Sauna

Exercise

7-8 hrs Sleep/night Check!

Body Brushing (exfoliate)

Epsom Salt Bath

Meditation

Stretching/Yoga

Deep Breathing

Chewing!

Massage

Acupuncture

So the obvious thing here to me is that (again) I am really good with the food portion of this and not so much with the over support for the program. Epic failure. I haven’t done yoga once! What is wrong with me?!?! I’m just lazy.

-L4L-

2 Responses

  1. Chewing? What’s that? 😛

    I think you are doing wonderful!! I’m especially impressed by the food side of things. I would probably suck at that part, than do good at the support part 😛 You’re not lazy, it just takes a lot of extra spare time to prep food AND sit in a sauna every week.

  2. Thanks to you, sweetheart, we’ve done pretty darn good with the food portion of the detox. It’s been rather painless overall……of course, I cheated a couple of times….:-(

    You on the other hand, have been amazing. I love how creative you have been with the meals. Definitely keeps things interesting.

    I’ve pretty much ignored the support part of the detox too. I blame this on our busy schedules……that and being lazy.

    After the detox……I’m getting back into an exercise routine! Seriously!!

Leave a Reply

