Beautiful Background

Breakfast

While laying in bed this morning, I was racking my brain for a way to do oatmeal differently than our usual. You know, just to mix it up some.

My mind wandered to the oatmeal of my youth: Quaker Instant, the variety box of the “Cream of ___” oatmeal packets. I always fought for the strawberry ones (and the peaches). Today, I made my best attempt on a detox friendly Strawberries ‘n Cream Oatmeal.

005

(PS – totally in love with my new placemats!)

For two, I cooked up 1 cup of oats in 2 cups of vanilla soymilk, plus a splash of vanilla. When that was ready, I added a heaping scoop of ground flax.

My little kitchen helper chopped up a bunch of strawberries which I simply just microwaved, stirred, microwaved, stirred, until they were nice and hot and getting syrupy.

I dumped the strawberries directly over the oats.

006 007

Then stirred it in, which is something I rarely do! I am not a stirrer!

008

It was tasty, albeit a bit sweet. I ate 90% of the bowl. 😉

Lunch

We spent the morning doing a bit of wedding planning.

We selected the four songs that are going to play during our ceremony.

We selected our invitations (on Etsy) and submitted all of our information.

We found Jodus a suit for the wedding but didn’t order it because we are nervous about the vendor and that he hasn’t tried it on but our efforts to find it in real life have been an epic failure.

We tapped into leftovers in the midst of all this, rather frustrated actually.

Leftover mung beans with some steamed spinach.

010 009 011

Then we let our minds unwind with a movie that turned out to be a terribly depressing flick.

Mid movie, while contemplating depression, suicide, murder, we chomped on some beloved snacks!

014

That’s right! More TJ’s Thai Chili Lime cashews! Jodus had packed some for Virginia but didn’t eat them. He sure does love me! He saw how much I adored them so saved them. I was kind enough to share today.

And of course, dried mango cheeks. Mega yum. No added sugars or sulfites or anything. Just pure mango.

Dinner

Tonight’s dinner was adapted from a Happy Herbivore recipe: Inca Corn Soup

Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 2 four ounces cans of green chilis, diced, not drained
  • 2 cups soymilk
  • 4 cups frozen corn
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 bunch of green onions, chopped
  • cayenne pepper
  • agave nectar
Instructions:

Cook the quinoa and corn in water for 10-15 minutes. Transfer half to your blender, chilis and non-dairy milk and blend until smooth. Add back to saucepan with remaining quinoa and corn, stir in bell peppers, the white of the green onion, and black beans and heat thoroughly. Add cayenne pepper and agave to taste (and some salt and pepper). Serve and garnish with hot sauce and greens of green onion.

017 

To be completely honest, I thought that this was quite good but if I were to make it again, I might sauté the bell pepper first to soften it up. It was a harsh crunch in the soft soupy goodness.

023

Overall, quite happy. I am very happy that I added the onion and doubled the recipe. We barely got 4 servings out of the doubled recipe. But I guess we are kinda piggy and like big servings.

022

We had a side of asparagus for some extra veggies!

021 024

Post dinner, we sipped on our detox tea in a dad-made mug and watched some shows.

025

Then we played Wii and snacked on some Mary’s crackers!

026

Yum! Love the CRUNCH!

(I spy a Scrabble board that hasn’t gotten much use as of late!)

Time for bed, folks! I’m working at Nordie’s 10:30-6:30 tomorrow!

-L4L-

3 Responses

  1. I love your new place mats as well! And they go very well with your oats ; )

  2. […] Beautiful Background […]

  3. I really enjoyed this new oatmeal combination. It was a little sweet, but definitely delicious. Mmmm. And it certainly did go well with our new placemats. 🙂

Leave a Reply

